-->

Monday, 5 September 2022

The Big Man Upstairs - J.D. Kirk - DCI Logan Book 7

The Big Man Upstairs
DCI Logan Book 7
ISBN 9781912767243
ASIN B08BSL1Q4G


This is the eleventh volume from J.D. Kirk that I have read in the last few months. I have enjoyed all that I have now read, the first 7 in the DCI Logan series and the first 3 in the Robert Hoon series, and a stand alone VIP exclusive short story. I picked the first for a few reasons, but mainly because authors Alex Smith and JE Mayhew have both recommended the author and series. I am a big fan of Smith’s DCI Kett novels and Mayhew’s DCI Will Blake Series. And having ripped through both of their series and slowing working through all of Mayhew’s others works I decided to give Kirk’s a try. Like Mayhew and Smith, Kirk publishes under various names. Kirk publishes children books as Barry Hutchison, and other adult fiction as Barry J. Hutchison. He is coming up on 175 books across the three pen names. If I had known that or I might not have picked up this first one. Friends call me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I like, I try to read everything they have published. For now I will try and read the remaining books published as Kirk.

The description of this novel is:

“Just when he thought he was out...

Burdened by guilt over the trauma recently inflicted on his friends and colleagues, former-Detective Chief Inspector Jack Logan has spent the past nine months living in self-imposed exile.

When a mother and her young daughter are the victims of a double murder staged to look like suicide, Logan is dragged back to help hunt down and catch a brutal, calculating killer.

But the world has moved on without him. To do what needs to be done, Logan must first find his place among old friends and new enemies before the killer strikes again, and a whole Highland community tears itself apart.

Maybe early retirement wasn't such a bad idea, after all...”

Jack Logan has been off tending bar on the island of Orkney. But the team wants him back. Including the recently promoted Sinead Bell. They convince him to come back to town, but the new boss wants his answer within 24 hours as to if he is returning to duty. While away he has gained weight, a beard, and maybe a few chins. Not everyone is happy with his return, especially crime scene lead Geoff Palmer and Dr Shona Maguire the pathologist seems to have mixed feelings. That first day back there is a double homicide, and the spouse a pastor is the prime suspect. Logan decides he is back. This is a case he cant or wont walk away from. But is he back for good?

To find out you will need to read this intense Scottish Crime thriller! I will warn you I might have laughed at the ending. This is a great book in an excellent crime literature series. The two series written under the pen name J.D. Kirk are definitely Scottish Mysteries, and I can see the comparisons with both Smith and Mayhew’s works. Every time I finish a book by Kirk it takes willpower not to just pick up the next one and keep going. I can easily state that I will be reading all the DCI Logan books and the Robert Hoon Series as well. I know I will be reading all the books published buy this author under this name. I love that the stories are set in Scotland! This book and series would be great read for fans of Jack Reacher, DCI Kett or DCI Will Blake. 

Books by J.D. Kirk:

DCI Logan Series:
An Isolated Incident
Colder than the Grave
Come Hell or High Water
City of Scars

Robert Hoon Thrillers:
Eastgate

Contributed to:
Everyday Kindness: A Collection of Uplifting Tales to Brighten Your Day

Books as Barry J. Hutchison:
Dan Deadman Space Detective Series:
Dial D for Deadman
Dead Inside
Dead in the Water

Space Team Series:
Space Team
The Wrath of Vajazzle 
The Search for Splurt 
Song of the Space Siren 
The Guns of Nana Joan 
Return of the Dead Guy 
Planet of the Japes 
The Time Titan of Tomorrow 
The King of Space Must Die 
Sting of the Mustard Mines 
Sentienced to Death
The Hunt for Reduk Topa
A Lot of Weird Space Shizz: Collected Short Stories

Sidekicks Initiative Series:
The Sidekicks Initiative

The Bug Books Series:
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Complete Season One

Other Books:
World Killer

Children’s books as Barry Hutchison:
Invisible Fiends Series:
Mr Mumbles 
Raggy Maggie 
The Crowmaster 
Doc Mortis 
The Beast 
The Darkest Corners 

Afterworlds:
The Missing Remote of the Apocalypse
The 13th Horseman 
The Book of Doom 
...

Benjamin Blank Series:
The Shark-Headed Bear Thing 
The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing 
The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing 

Beaky Malone Series:
The World's Greatest Liar
Worst School Trip Ever
Super Creepy Camp
Weirdest Show on Earth

Generator Rex Series:
The Trade
Mirror Mirror

Living Ted Series:
Night of the Living Ted
Revenge of the Living Ted
Invasion of the Living Ted

Spectre Collectors Series:
Too Ghoul for School
A New York Nightmare!
Rise of the Ghostfather!

Other works:
Rise of the Rabbits















No comments: