-->

Friday, 31 December 2021

Top Ten Fiction Books 2021

Top Ten Fiction Books 2021

It has been a different year for us all. This year I read about 1a book a day. This was up a little from last year. Since reading and reviewing books is my hobby, I am grateful to have been able to read 365 books this year. And have reviews written for all the books read. This year I read about 30% more non-fiction over fiction. 

The year by the numbers:

365 Books Read
258 received 5/5 Stars.
320 books read for the first.

Here are my top ten fiction books of 2021.

Top Ten Fiction Books:

1. Saints in High Places Series - Corinna Turner
5. Rescue Sisters Short Stories - Karina Fabian
8. unSParked Series - Corinna Turner
10.  Dead Means Dead Series - Edwin Torr (aka J.E. Mayhew)
1.0 Demons
11.  DragonEye, PI Books - Karina Fabian

Bonus Books:

My reading has been up over each of the last few years. Which I attribute in part to Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now, removing all games but 1 brain game from my devices. And I was commuting to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. But being 2020 everything is topsy-turvy. And 2021 I worked from home all year. Reading took a little more discipline. I read more books this year. I managed to write reviews for all books read for the first time. 

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are sometimes in the bonus section. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list.  


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2020
317 - 2020 
392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996



Thursday, 30 December 2021

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2021

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2021

It has been a different year for us all. This year I read about 1a book a day. This was up a little from last year. Since reading and reviewing books is my hobby, I am grateful to have been able to read 365 books this year. And have reviews written for all the books read. This year I read about 30% more non-fiction over fiction.

The year by the numbers:

365 Books Read
258 received 5/5 Stars.
320 books read for the first.

Here are my top ten non-fiction books of 2021.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:

4. Great Saints Series - The Catholic Truth Society
6.  Prison Journal - George Cardinal Pell
10. Books by Father Paul O'Sullivan 

My reading has been up over each of the last few years. Which I attribute in part to Brandon Vogt’s course Read More Books Now, removing all games but 1 brain game from my devices. And I was commuting to work on a bus and read on the bus every day. But being 2020 everything is topsy-turvy. And 2021 I worked from home all year. Reading took a little more discipline. I read more books this year. I managed to write reviews for all books read for the first time.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists, they are sometimes in the bonus section. But if you want more options check out my favorite books year by year list.  


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011
 

Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2020
317 - 2020 
392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996



Wednesday, 29 December 2021

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2021

Top Ten Fiction and Non-Fiction Books Fourth Quarter 2021

It was a good year for reading. I read 365 books this year, 320 were first time reads. Discovered some new authors, some new series, and have come to love the books and booklets from the Catholic Truth Society even more. 

This past 2 years have been different year for us all. Last year I had about a 15% drop in my reading totals but this year I am back to about a book a day. I am very happy with my reading this year. A bit of an increase this quarter. Reading and reviewing books is my hobby, I am grateful to be able to do so. 

Back to this quarter. By the numbers:

Books Read: 83
First Time Reads: 54
Fiction: 20
Non-Fiction: 34
5/5 Stars: 55
5/5 Fiction: 11
5/5 Non-Fiction: 29

Here is my top ten fiction and non-fiction books of the third quarter of 2021.

Top Ten Non-Fiction Books:


Bonus Books:

Top Ten Fiction Books:
 

This year was my fastest to 200 books read, it took me 173 days. But the second half of the year had a bit of a slow down. There were so many great reads so far this year. It was very hard picking the top ten. You should check out my Favourite Books Year by Year list.

Note: I do not include books that have been read in previous years and were reread this year in my top ten lists; they are in sometimes in the bonus section. It was not easy again this quarter, making my picks. 


Relates Posts: 
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2010
Top 10 Reading Goals for 2010
Top 10 Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2010

Top 10 Fiction Books 4th Quarter 2010
Top Ten Reading Goals For 2010 - Recap

Top 10 Fiction Books 2010
Top 10 Picture Books of 2010
Top 10 Non-Fiction Books of 2010

Top 10 Graphic Novels for 2010

Top Ten Reading Goals For 2011 
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals for 2011 Update
 
Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2011 
Top Ten Fictions Books 4th Quarter 2011
Top Ten Fiction Books 2011
Top Ten Reading Goals 2011 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2012

Top Ten Fiction Books 3rd Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books  4th Quarter 2012
Top Ten Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2012
Top Ten Reading Goals 2012 - Recap
Top Ten Reading Goals 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 1st Quarter 2013
Top 10 Fiction Books 2nd Quarter 2013
Top 10 Books Second Half 2013
Top Ten Fiction Books 2013
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2013 
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2014
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2014
Top Ten Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2014
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2015
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2015
Top Ten Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2015
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2016
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2016
Top Ten Non- Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Fiction Books 2016
Top Ten Catholic Books
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2017
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2017
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Fiction Books 2017
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2018
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2018
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Fiction Books 2018
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Third Quarter 2019
Top Ten Books Fourth Quarter 2019
Top Ten Non-Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Fiction Books 2019
Top Ten Books First Quarter 2020
Top Ten Books Second Quarter 2020

All Top Ten Lists on Book Reviews and More

Statistics Books Read By Year:

365 - 2021 
317 - 2020 
392 - 2019
359 - 2018
380 - 2017 
272 - 2016 
177 - 2015 
130 - 2014 
88 -  2013
176 - 2012 
163 - 2011
302 - 2010
142 - 2009
98 - 2008
83 - 2007
191 - 2006
151 - 2005
60 - 2004
52 - 2003
97 - 2002
50 - 2001
41 - 2000
71 - 1999
73 - 1998
131 - 1997
101 - 1996


Tuesday, 28 December 2021

Memento Mori An Advent Companion on the Last Things - Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP

Memento Mori: 
An Advent Companion on the Last Things 
Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 
9780819850447


This is the fourth volume from Sister Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP that I have read. And I have read each of the other three more than once. I was very blessed by having read this book, and though I much prefer eBooks this is a stunning volume. And I will hang onto it and reuses it over the next few Advents. Or until an eBook version is released. This volume was funded in part through a Kickstarter campaign.

This book is an oversized trade paperback.  With flat cover. Each week begins with a reflection for the week. And then there is a reflection for each day. The daily reflections are 4 pages and are comprised of:

Full Page Artwork
Title (Third Tuesday of Advent)
Readings (the bible readings for that days mass, 
               Sundays have all three Cycles A B C.)
A Biblical Quote or Two.
Reflection on that days readings.
Examen 
Journaling and Prayer Prompts

The chapters in the book are:

Memento Mori, the Last Things, and Advent
How to Use This Companion

First Week of Advent: Death
     First Sunday of Advent
     First Monday of Advent
     First Tuesday of Advent
     First Wednesday of Advent
     First Thursday of Advent
     First Friday of Advent
     First Saturday of Advent

Second Week of Advent: Judgement
     Second Sunday of Advent
     Second Monday of Advent
     Second Tuesday of Advent
     Second Wednesday of Advent
     Second Thursday of Advent
     Second Friday of Advent
     Second Saturday of Advent

Third Week of Advent: Hell
     Third Sunday of Advent
     Third Monday of Advent
     Third Tuesday of Advent
     Third Wednesday of Advent
     Third Thursday of Advent
     Third Friday of Advent
     Third Saturday of Advent

Fourth Week of Advent: Heaven
     Fourth Sunday of Advent
     December 17
     December 18
     December 19
     December 20
     December 21
     December 22
     December 23
     December 24
     Christmas December 25 

Appendix: The Memento Mori Daily Examen
     How to Make the Memento Mori Daily Examen
Art Acknowledgements

The artwork is stunning and the art contributors are:

Erica Tighn
Valerie Delgado
Diego Diaz
Yohanes Dony
Mary Dudek
Tricia Hope Dugat
Anna Griebe
Cory and Marie Heimann
Hope Helmer
Joe Kim
James Langley
Chris Lewis
Daniela Madriz
Christy Mandin
Sr. Laura Rosemarie McGowan
Ryan McQuade
Cory Mendenhall
Harmony Miller
Tisa Muico
David Nobel
Jay Parnell
Michella Arnold Paine
Gabriella Schadt
Jeremy Stout
Arienda Tankou
Kreg Yingst
Elizabeth Zelasko

Each artist has between 1 and 4 contributions to the work and each artist profile includes a twitter handle or website, title of work, description of work, and bio. The description on the back of the book states:

“During Advent we prayerfully consider how Jesus was born to save us from death through his incarnation, death, and resurrection. Remembering this in light of your own death can change your life.

Memento Mori of “remember your death” is a phrase long associated with the practice of remembering the unpredictable and inevitable end of one’s life. Memento Mori An Advent Companion on the Last things is the latest in a series of books by Sr. Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP, that explores the traditional Christian practice of meditation on death in light of Christ. This book will help you consider that four Last Things: death, judgement, heal, and heaven in the context of Advent, through:

Daily Advent Reflections based on the liturgical readings
Daily readings from the tradition, including the 
                 Church Fathers and many of the Saints
The Memento Mori Examen or review of the day
Classic art as well as memento more-inspired art from over twenty artists."

Sister Theresa has written another wonderful volume. And the artwork helps us enter deeper into the meditations and reflections. The book can be used once, or for many years in a row. It is an excellent resource and I highly recommend it!

A few of my favorite art pieces:




Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2021 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Theresa Aletheia Noble, FSP:
Remember Your Death: Memento Mori A Lenten Devotional
Remember Your Death: Memento Mori Journal

Memento Mori Prayers on the Last Things 
The Prodigal You Love