-->

Thursday, 19 September 2019

Eucharistic Miracles - Joan Carroll Cruz - And Eucharistic Phenomenon in the Lives of the Saints

Eucharistic Miracles:
And Eucharistic Phenomenon in the Lives of the Saints
Joan Carroll Cruz
TAN Books
ISBN 9780895553034
eISBN 9780895559487
ASIN B00DJJIR2M



Two different books by Joan Carroll Cruz were recommended to me, this volume and The Incorruptibles: A Study of Incorruption in the Bodies of Various Saints and Beati. I picked up both but this was the first I have made it through. Both are on topics that fascinate and to be honest concern me a little. I love being part of a tradition that is so rich in history and to be honest miracles. I read this book slowly only reading a section or 2 a day at lunch. The only other book I have read on Eucharistic Miracles is Heavenly Hosts: Eucharistic Miracles for Kids by Kathryn Griffin Swegart, and I began this one after finishing it because I wanted to go deeper on the subject. And this volume did not let down.

This book begins with a photo of consecrated hosts that have remained fresh and incorrupt for 250 years. From the Basilica of St Francis in Siena. They were stolen in 1730 and then recovered. They are the focus of chapter 16. The sections in this volume are:

Author’s Preface
Introduction: The Catholic Teaching on the Holy Eucharist
Acknowledgements
Glossary

— Part One —
 EUCHARISTIC MIRACLES

1. Lanciano, Italy—8th century
2. Braine, France—1153
3. Ferrara, Italy—1171
4. Augsburg, Germany—1194
5. Alatri, Italy—1228
6. Santarem, Portugal—early 13th century
7. Florence, Italy—1230 and 1595
8. Daroca, Spain—1239
9. Olmütz, Czechoslovakia—1242
10. Regensburg, Germany—1257
11. Bolsena-Orvieto, Italy—1263
12. Paris, France—1274 and 1290
13. Slavonice, Czechoslovakia—1280
14. Offida, Italy—1280
15. Hasselt, Belgium—1317
16. Siena, Italy—1330 and 1730
17. Blanot, France—1331
18. Amsterdam, The Netherlands—1345
19. Macerata, Italy—1356
20. Brussels, Belgium—1370
21. Middleburg-Louvain, Belgium—1374
22. Seefeld, Austria—1384
23. Dijon, France—before 1433
24. Avignon, France—1433
25. Turin, Italy—1453
26. Morrovalle, Italy—1560
27. Alcalá de Henares, Spain—1597
28. Faverney, France—1608
29. Paterno, Italy—1772
30. Bordeaux, France—1822
31. Dubna, Poland (now Dubna, Russia)—1867
32. The Two Miracles of Stich, West Germany—1970
33. More Eucharistic Miracles

— Part Two —
EUCHARISTIC PHENOMENA IN THE LIVES OF THE SAINTS

34. The Eucharistic Devotion of the Saints
35. Eucharistic Miracles and the Saints
36. Eucharistic Fasts
37. Raptures and Ecstasies
38. Miraculous Receptions of Holy Communion
39. Voices and Visions
40. Tears, Fire and Light
41. Levitation
42. The History of Eucharistic Devotion
43. The Holy Eucharist and Ourselves
44. Spiritual Communion
Selected Bibliography

It would have been very easy to rip through this book. But by slowing down and reading it over several weeks I was really able to focus and reflect upon the miracles presented in this volume. Some of them I have encountered before, but this volume goes into much more details. And many this was my first encounter with the events presented.

For the most part the stories in part one of the book are in chronological order. Only chapter 7, which focuses on a miracles in Florence in 1230 and 1595 and the final section are not a chronology. One of the things that amazed me most is that the miracles are almost always different. There may be some similar characteristics, the sight and smell of blood, the taste of blood or flesh, glowing and yet they are almost all unique. Much like the saints, no two saints because saintly by the exact same path, no two Eucharistic miracles are identical in how they happened.

We have stories of Eucharistic miracles going back to the first Christian communities. And some that extend right up into our lifetimes. I am especially fascinated by stories of saints and saintly people who lived for long periods on just the Eucharist for sustenance. And I really appreciated the last section on spiritual communion.

This book was a deeply moving read. And it was incredibly inspiring. I will likely return to it and read it again, maybe in a year or two and reread it with my children when they are a little older. And After reading this volume I have added a few more by Cruz to my to be read pile.

A great book for all Catholics. And will be eye opening to other discerning Christians.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Other books by Joan Carroll Cruz:
Angels and Devils
Eucharistic Miracles
Lay Saints: Ascetics and Penitents
Lay Saints: Martyrs
Lay Saints: Models of Family Life
Lay Saints: The Noble and The Humble
Miraculous Images of Our Lady: 100 Famous Catholic Portraits and Statues
Miraculous Images of Our Lord: Famous Catholic Statues, Portraits and Crucifixes
Mysteries, Marvels and Miracles
Prayers and Heavenly Promises
Relics
Saintly Men of Modern Times
Saintly Women of Modern Times
Saints for the Sick: Heavenly Help for Those Who Suffer
Secular Saints: 250 Canonized and Beatified Lay Men, Women and Children
See How She Loves Us: 50 Approved Apparitions of Our Lady
The Incorruptibles: A Study of Incorruption in the Bodies of Various Saints and Beati




Wednesday, 18 September 2019

7 Days Compassion - Team Body Project - Alex and Daniel Bartlett

7 Days Compassion
Team Body Project
Alex and Daniel Bartlett



This is the fifth program from Team body project that I have completed this year. At the time this review posts I will have worked out 88 days in a row using the TBP website and app. This past summer I wrote a piece called Starting Over in Southwestern Ontario! A Fitness Update! What I started with was the workout videos from team Body Project, and specifically Real Start Just Move. You can watch that video on YouTube, or even workout with it. I have been a member of Team Body Project for three years now, but only just started the videos. I am in my 50th year, and I really needed to get back at it. 

Team Body Project is a website, an app and a community. And the community is part of what makes this an excellent resource for your health and fitness. The private community on Facebook and the forums on the website are very supportive and encouraging. But what really helped me is that the workouts in the Real Start program are geared for anyone. Each video has three participants. Daniel and Alex lead the videos and Natasha and Lisa. Natasha usually works out at a harder pace, and Lisa at a modified level. After doing the three Real Start programs and The Development Plan, I gave this one week program a spin. 

This is a one week program. And the workouts include a combination of Circuit, Low impact, Boxing, Cardio, Standing, Pilates, Mobilisation, and Resistance work. All of the videos are either just Alex or Daniel in the gym or studio. This is very different from the other four programs I have done.

The gear you will need:
Mat
Light Dumbbells (Optional)
Water 
Towel

The workouts are:
Cardio Compassion 
Resistance Compassion
Movement Compassion
Cardio Compassion 2
Triple HIIT Compassion
Boxing Compassion
Compassion Complete

What I found hard about this program was the slower pace. The Especially the two videos Triple HIIT Compassion and Boxing Compassion. Both of these videos are at a much slower pace. And all the exercises are ones I have come across in other TBP videos. But really slowing down, focusing on the movement and engagement was much more difficult than I expected. The videos range from 20 minutes to 29. And the series as a set is a great break between some harder focused programs. I can see myself coming back and doing they after 4-6 weeks of more intense programs, or picking and pulling videos from this series for active recovery days. 

This is a great program and excellent switch of pace. It is 1 of about 20 programs that are included in the paid memberships. And I encourage you to give TBP a try. 

And do not just take my word for it check out Kylie Young’s story or the other testimonials on the site. I can say that TBP is one of the best resources for health and fitness that I have ever come across. 

A great program thank you Alex and Daniel. 



Tuesday, 17 September 2019

Saint José Boy Cristero Martyr - Fr. Kevin McKenzie

Saint José: Boy Cristero Martyr
Vision Books
Fr. Kevin McKenzie
John Herreid (Illustrator)
Ignatius Press
ISBN 9781621642428
eISBN 9781642290769
ASIN B07RXM7NQ9



I picked this book up to read because my interest in this saint was sparked by the novel Nicholas Gilroy: Viva Christo Rey, written by Father Stephen Gemme and Deacon George O’Connor. After a brief encounter with stories about Saint Jose in that story I had to read more about the saint. And this book did not disappoint. I have picked up a few other books from the Vision Books series on the lives of saints. But have not got around to reading them yet. But after how much I benefited from reading this story, they have jumped way up in my to be read list. But back to this book about Saint Jose.

I need to state first that this is a new and revised version of a book originally published as Blessed Jose: Boy Cristero Martyr. Doing a side by side comparison the books are very similar. A few chapter titles are changed, and some chapters in the original are combined as sections in the current edition. But there are enough differences that you could read both versions, because of changes of wording. But most readers will settle for reading one or the other.

I can understand while there is such devotion to this saint in Mexico, and among those of Mexican heritage. I do not know how any Catholic could read this story and not be inspired. Or be encouraged in the small trials and issues they experience in their lives. The author shares how he experienced the story of Saint Jose in the sixth grade. That story by a visiting teacher he states:

“he told us the story of a Mexican boy who was martyred for his faith and never stopped shouting, “Long live Christ the King!” When I heard about this fourteen-year-old boy, explosions went off in my twelve-year-old heart. If José could give his life for God, then I could do something for God too.”

Father McKenzie also states:

“When I looked for more about José, I couldn’t find a single book about him in English. That was 1993. In 2004, I decided it was time for me to put his story in writing. This book is the result of ten years of research, during which time I obtained copies of what I believe to be every historical document ever written about José.”

This volume is that book. It is the story of José Luis Sánchez del Río who at the age of 14 died because of his love for God, and for his faithful devotion the Catholic church. He died a martyr because he would not renounce his faith. He was condemned by his own god father, who was a politician, and mayor and was trying to size power. He died even though his father sold everything he had to ransom his life. It is the story of incredible devotion and bravery. And the story reads like an adventure novel, a case of truth being even better than fiction.

An excellent read. If you only have a passing knowledge of this saint, I strongly encourage you to read this book.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Father Kevin McKenzie:
Saint José: Boy Cristero Martyr
Blessed Jose: Boy Cristero Martyr

...

The Theodore Books:
The Adventures of Theodore
The Return of Theodore

...



Monday, 16 September 2019

Poor Banished Children - Fiorella De Maria

Poor Banished Children
Fiorella De Maria
Ignatius Press

ISBN 9781586176327
eISBN 9781681493794
ASIN B004VSPY0S


This was the fourth novel by Fiorella that I have read. And with each that I read I am more impressed by her skills as an author. After reading A Most Dangerous Innocence, I picked up all the eBooks available of works by Fiorella De Maria and set to work tracking down the three that do not have electronic editions. And this was the third novel by Fiorella that I have read. It is not an easy read. And it is set in a hard time and covers an even harder topic. But It was an incredible read, and I could barely put the book down. 

The story begins after an explosion at sea. And a woman is burnt and floating in the debris hanging on for life. She believes death has come for her again. And after reading her story we see that death passed he by closely many times. 

The story is set in the sixteenth century. The story is told as the confession and life story of a woman who had been Barbary slave trade, but that was after a rough childhood. The story follows a woman as she recounts her story, from her early family’s rejection. He virtual adoption and training by the local priest. Follow her from a wild child living in the wild and not wanted in her family home. To student and almost daughter of her priest. To wanting to take vows and live to support the anchoresses. Capture by pirates and sold as a slave. From Malta to the slave market to a pirate ship. And through it all she struggles with being courageous, seeking freedom, and always returning to God. 

From her home island of Malta to the slave market. To basically being a slave on a pirate ship. What this woman endured and lived through. Yes, it is fictional but these sorts of things happened to many many people during this time.

While reading this book I kept wondering if it was based on a true story. And though there are a few historical figures, the story is fiction. But it was written drawing upon accounts of the barbary slave trade. Pierre Dan really existed. And the priest, Father Hugh Branton could easily have been one of the Martyrs of the British Isles. And we are told in the acknowledgements that Ibrahim Reis is based on the real-life pirate Murat Reis.

As mentioned, this book was not an easy read. But it was well worth the discomfort of the events. It is in many ways a story of hope and a story of salvation. It is masterfully written. Every time I read something by De Maria I am more impressed with her skill as a wordsmith. 

This is a story that is haunting, and the images will stay with me a while. Another excellent read from Maria De Maria!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan


Books by Fiorella De Maria:
The Cassandra Curse
Father William's Daughter
Poor Banished Children
Do No Harm
We'll Never Tell Them
A Most Dangerous Innocence


Father Gabriel Mysteries:
The Sleeping Witness
The Vanishing Woman


Nonfiction:
Robert Southwell – CTS Saints of the Isles




Books as Fiorella Nash:
The Abolition of Woman: How Radical Feminism Is Betraying Women

...








Friday, 13 September 2019

Persuader - Lee Child - Jack Reacher Book 7

Persuader
Jack Reacher Book 7
Lee Child
Penguin Random House Canada
ISBN 9780857500106
eISBN 9780440333869
ASIN B000FBJDF2


I am very much enjoying the Reacher stories. They are not for all readers. There is often a lot of violence, and some sex. But I have now read 28 of them in the last 25 weeks. And only have a two to go to have read all of them in under half a year. I started on a whim by picking up the current release because the description caught my attention when I was looking at it as a gift for my father. That first one, Past Tense, was great and many since have been excellent reads. And this is another great read in the series. I started this one right after reading book 19, Personal. It is interesting that both stories revolve around a character from Reacher’s past. And it leaves me with only the two that were Tom Cruise Movies left to read. And yes, I left them to the end on purpose. But back to this story.

Reacher is walking in Boston, hustling to get to a bar he wants to check out when a face from his past appears. I face that should not be there. And that is the real beginning of this story. But to get there we have a large preamble. While reading the preamble I was this doesn’t feel like Reacher and then we know why. Reacher tells this story in a series of recollections of specific days. Some go back from that starting point and others go forward. When he tries and have the plate run for the car, he sees the guy get into he is approached by DEA agent Susan Duffy. She wants to recruit him for and off the books project. And What Reacher wants, and Duffy want overlap enough that Reacher chooses to help out. But things start going south quickly. And the stakes are much higher than either Duffy or Reacher expected, and all because of the assumptions they began with. 

This story is very different than any of the others in the Reacher series. In part of because of what he encounters, and in part because of the very serious chance of failure. Reacher undercover is interesting to see. And the issues and people he encounters are very well written. It is another good read in a great series!   

Books by Lee Child:
Jack Reacher Books Publishing Order:

Killing Floor
Die Trying
Tripwire
The Visitor /Running Blind
Echo Burning
Without Fail
Persuader
The Enemy
One Shot
The Hard Way
Bad Luck and Trouble
Nothing to Lose
Gone Tomorrow
61 Hours
Worth Dying For
The Affair
A Wanted Man
Never go Back
Personal
Make Me
Night School
The Midnight Line
Past Tense
Blue Moon

...
Jack Reacher's Rules
...

Reacher Short Stories and Novella’s:
No Middle Name – Complete Collected Short Stories
Stories in No Middle Name Collection:
Too Much Time
Second Son
Deep Down
Guy Walks into A Bar
James Penney’s New Identity
High Heat
Everyone Talks
Not A Drill
Small Wars
Maybe They Have A Tradition

No Room At The Motel
The Picture of the Lonely Diner

Other Short Stories:
The Fourth Man
The Christmas Scorpion
...
Faking a Murderer with Kathy Reichs
Cleaning the Gold with Karin Slaughter
Good and Valuable Consideration with Joseph Finder
...






Thursday, 12 September 2019

Keto Diet: The Complete Guide For Beginners - Joey Robbins

Keto Diet: The Complete Guide For Beginners
Joey Robbins
ASIN B07VZXM8XP



Overall, I was very pleased with this book. It has some great material. And is a good place for beginners. And as a self-published eBook it is very reasonably priced.

But this book has some pros and some cons. And it has some great recipes. I will get the complaints out of the way and then get to the good stuff. First the title of the book as appears on the cover is “Keto Diet For Beginners: the Complete Guide”, the title as displayed on Amazon and Goodreads is “Keto Diet: The Complete Guide For Beginners To Fast Weight Loss (Ketogenic Diet Recipes, Keto Meal Prep, Keto Meal Plan, Ketosis Low Carb Diet Cookbook) ... Diet Cookbook, Weight Loss, For Beginners)”. Talk about stacking your keywords and playing to the algorithms. I understand that the self-published market is pretty cutthroat, but I really get frustrated by this sort of gaming the system. My second complaint is the units of measurement used in the recipes. It mixes metric and imperial measurements. As a great cookbook I would expect either it have both, or that it stick to one of the other. The feeling I get is the recipes were collected and the units of measurements were not unified across the different recipes. It was weird having some recipes use grams and teaspoon and tablespoons. While others had cups, and ounces, and teaspoons. But putting aside those two lets look at what we get.

The sections in the book are:
Breakfast
Lunch
Dinner
Snacks
Bonus Snacks
7 Day Meal Plan
And then 3 Bonus items.

Each of the three meal sections have 6 recipes and both the snack chapters have 4 and then 5. For a total of 27 recipes. Having gone through them all based on ingredients and personal preference there are 5 I would be unlikely to ever do. Of the 22 remaining I have tried a few and am very happy with the results. I just wished the index or table of contents listed each recipe so you could jump right to it, instead of having to go to the section and then scroll through. And though the book is small I think it would also benefit from an index, especially of ingredients, so you could look up Salmon and find the two recipes. The best thing about this book is the 7 Day Meal Plan. For anyone new to Keto, or just wanting a quick schedule this week plan is an excellent resource.

Overall a good resource. The meal plan is great. The book could use a few tweaks to make it exceptional. But well worth the price.



Wednesday, 11 September 2019

The Development Plan - Team Body Project - Alex and Daniel Bartlett

The Development Plan
Team Body Project
Alex and Daniel Bartlett



This is the first of the non-real Start plans from team Body project that I have completed. At the time of publishing this article I have hit play every day for the last 81 days. I have completed the Real Start, Real Start Evolve, and Real Start Plus. Before giving this program a try. Some of it I found harder than the real start but most of it was not. Daniel has said in a life Facebook discussion that this is the real starting point. And I would agree with that. If you are new to exercise, returning after a long layoff, or even recovering from injury this really is a great place to start. But what ever you are thinking of doing, Team Body project has a program that will be right for you and the resources they provide are excellent. 

The videos in the plan are led either by Alex Bartlett or Daniel Bartlett, and one lead by a Katie. And the only equipment you need are some light weights and a mat. The workouts in The Development Plan are:

Week 1:
Develop
Cardio Breeze – with Katie
Cardio Compassion
Movement Compassion
Get Moving 1
Pilates Pre Phase

Week 2:
Resistance Cardio Starter
Get Moving Cardio
Cardio Compassion 2
Starter Boxer
Get Moving 2
Standing Pilates

The workouts vary in length from 21 minutes to just over 49 minutes. Only 4 of the 12 workouts use weights. Both 2 of those are the longest. And they are both great workouts. 

Team Body Project is a website, an app and a community. The private community on Facebook and the forums on the website are very supportive and encouraging. But what really helped me is that the workouts in the Real Start programs and the Development Plan are geared for anyone. If you are still not certain you should check out Kylie Young’s story (in real Start Evolve) or the other testimonials on the site.

And most important of all you can try before you buy. If you create a free membership on the site you will have access to the first week of The Development Plan and Real Start, Trainee Plan, Apprentice Plan and Graduate Plan. Plus, many other videos you can test and try before you decide if you want to commit. And if you go with the annual payment it is just $10/month at the time of writing this review. 

I have said it before TBP is one of the best resources for health and fitness that I have ever come across. And I have been working out off and on for almost 40 years now. And with the option to try and buy with no cost up front you have nothing to lose, but greater health and well being to gain. You can even do the first whole week of this plan with the free membership. Why not give TBP a try. And I hope I will see you in the forms. 

Another excellent workout plan from Team Body Project!



Tuesday, 10 September 2019

Rain in Hell A Short Story - Jane Lebak

Rain in Hell
A Short Story
Jane Lebak
Philangelus Press

eISBN 9781942133285
ASIN B07JGNSJYM


This is the 16th story by Jane Lebak I have read in just over a year. And this is an incredibly powerful short story. It deals with issues of forgiveness, anger, resentment, and overcoming hurts from the past. As a fictional story it is a deeply moving read. But when you read the authors note at the end it becomes even more powerful. The main character is protestant, and her close friend is Catholic. They do bible study together. They support and encourage each other. 

Six years before the events in the story a young woman during her first pregnancy is told her baby is not viable. The Doctor, and Olivia Thackeray insists she terminate the pregnancy. The Dr. even schedules the procedure against the women’s wishes. And calls her on the day of berating and harassing her. Then six years later the Doctor walks into her church. 

This event even triggers a near panic attack. She even goes so far as to state: “If I get to Heaven and find her there, I’d rather be in Hell.”. But with the prayers and guidance of her best friend and her husband she soon realizes God has a plan and part of that plan is dealing with this hurt from the past. 

This is an excellent story about learning to forgive and going beyond just words, to really wanting the best and healing for the person who hurt you.

It is a deeply moving read it is very well written. And I give it a very solid 5/5 stars. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan!


Books by Jane Lebak:
Pickup Notes
Love's Highway
Forever And For Keeps
Half Missing

Relic of His Heart
With Two Eyes Into Gehenna
Rain in Hell
...

Father Jay Series:
Bulletproof Vestments
The Boys Upstairs
A Different Heroism

...

Seven Archangels:
1.0 An Arrow In Flight
2.0 Sacred Cups
3.0 Shattered Walls
4.0 The Wrong Enemy
5.0 Annihilation


Seven Archangels Short Stories:
2.1 Damage
2.2 Even A Stone
2.3 Hired Man
2.4 Winter Branches
5.5 Once Only

Seven Angels Short Story Bundle 2.1-2.4

The Adventures of Lee and Bucky:

0.5 Upsie-Daisy
1.0 Honest And For True
2.0 Forever And For Keeps


Books as Maddie Evans:

Sweet Grove:
1.0 Love's Highway
2.0 Love's Rules of the Road

...

Non-Fiction:
Carrying to Term: A Guide for Parents after a Devastating Prenatal Diagnosis

...

Author profile and interview with Jane Lebak.









Monday, 9 September 2019

Do No Harm - Fiorella De Maria

Do No Harm
Fiorella De Maria
Ignatius Press

ISBN 9781586177249
eISBN 9781681491417
ASIN B00BY9HPHM


This was the third novel by Fiorella De Maria that I have read. Each of the three to date have rated a solid 5/5 stars. I was captivated by  A Most Dangerous Innocence, and enthralled by The Vanishing Woman the first of the father Gabriel Mysteries. But this book was the book that I could not put down. I stated before that after reading A Most Dangerous Innocence, I picked up all the eBooks available of works by Fiorella De Maria and set to work tracking down the three that do not have electronic editions. And this was the third novel by Fiorella that I have read. And with everything I read I am more impressed with Fiorella’s skill in the craft of writing. I read a lot of books, over the last few years I have read over 300 books a year. I read a lot of good books, and a few great books, and some very exceptional books. This is an exceptional read. As life has a way of imitating fiction, I hope that this novel and others along these lines can serve as a wake-up call and sobering warning. 

In this story Dr. Matthew Kemble working the late shift in the Emergency Room must make a split-second decision.  He must either ignore his oath as a Doctor and let a young woman die or he must go against her ‘Living Will’ and save her life after her suicide attempt. He is charged with assault for saving her life, and trespassing her right to die. And to make the situation even worse Matthew had been a very vocal opponent to the legislation. The trial is rushed and soon both only is Matthews family attacked but one of his defense team. The case is both politically and religiously charged. 

This book covers a lot of current hot topics. Both in Europe and north America. In fact it could be fiction taken right from the Catholic Answers book 20 Answers End Of Life issues by Jason Negri. The story deals with issues around right to die, Doctor assisted suicide, living wills, and even suicide as a broader topic. The story is gripping from beginning to end. And the characters are incredibly well written. The story has a slight mystery element to it, as part of the court room drama. In fact the same story could be rewritten with the former roommate and brother as the ones on trial. 

There are lots of books that I finish and think I will read them again. There are a few that I put back in my ‘to be read’ pile. This is in the second category. I know I will cycle back and reread this after I finished all of Fiorella’s works. This is an excellent story; I cannot encourage you enough to read it.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan

Books by Fiorella De Maria:
The Cassandra Curse
Father William's Daughter
Poor Banished Children
Do No Harm
We'll Never Tell Them
A Most Dangerous Innocence


Father Gabriel Mysteries:
The Sleeping Witness
The Vanishing Woman


Nonfiction:
Robert Southwell – CTS Saints of the Isles




Books as Fiorella Nash:
The Abolition of Woman: How Radical Feminism Is Betraying Women

...








Saturday, 7 September 2019

Personal - Lee Child - Jack Reacher Book 19

Personal
Jack Reacher Book 19
Lee Child
Penguin Random House Canada
ISBN 9780804178754
eISBN 9780804178761
ASIN B00HBQWGXK


I love the Reacher stories. I have read 28 of them in the last 25 weeks. And only have a two to go to have read all of them in well under half a year. I started on a whim by picking up the current release because the description caught my attention when I was looking at it as a gift for my father. That first one, Past Tense, was great and many since have been excellent reads. And to be honest this one is one of my favorites across all the Reacher stories. In fact this one was so good that rather than take a break I immediately started Persuader, book 7. And it is interesting that both stories revolve around a character from Reacher’s past. And it leaves me with only the two that were Tom Cruise Movies left to read. And yes, I left them to the end on purpose. But back to this story.

In this story Reacher gets pulled back into the Military. And we also find out how he came by his passport (That is mentioned in several novels as one of the few things he carries around with himself.) Someone has taken a shot at the president of France; the bullet is American. With the G8 approaching the governments are working together to figure out who the shooter was, and eliminate them as a security risk. The shot was from three quarters of a mile distance. Not many people in the world can make that sort of shot. So, when the Americans find a sniper they cannot account for, a John Kott, Reacher is called back in because he caught him one, they hope he can catch him again. And that makes this case personal.

But as with all military intelligence, and governmental agencies, all is not as it appears. Reacher, a Russian and a Brit are looking into the original attempt when one of them is knocked off. In this story Reacher puts in a lot of miles, with trips back and forth to France, and the UK. He is teamed with a young agent, a Casey Nice. Reacher makes a few mistakes in this story but finds a way to turn it around in the end. 

This is a story that travels around the US and around the world. Reacher figures out some pieces that others missed. And he puts his own life on the line more than once. In my opinion it is one of the best in the series. 

A great read in an excellent series.  

Books by Lee Child:
Jack Reacher Books Publishing Order:

Killing Floor
Die Trying
Tripwire
The Visitor /Running Blind
Echo Burning
Without Fail
Persuader
The Enemy
One Shot
The Hard Way
Bad Luck and Trouble
Nothing to Lose
Gone Tomorrow
61 Hours
Worth Dying For
The Affair
A Wanted Man
Never go Back
Personal
Make Me
Night School
The Midnight Line
Past Tense
Blue Moon

...
Jack Reacher's Rules
...

Reacher Short Stories and Novella’s:
No Middle Name – Complete Collected Short Stories
Stories in No Middle Name Collection:
Too Much Time
Second Son
Deep Down
Guy Walks into A Bar
James Penney’s New Identity
High Heat
Everyone Talks
Not A Drill
Small Wars
Maybe They Have A Tradition

No Room At The Motel
The Picture of the Lonely Diner

Other Short Stories:
The Fourth Man
The Christmas Scorpion
...
Faking a Murderer with Kathy Reichs
Cleaning the Gold with Karin Slaughter
Good and Valuable Consideration with Joseph Finder
...






Friday, 6 September 2019

A Journeyman to Grief - Maureen Jennings - Detective Murdoch Book 7

A Journeyman to Grief
Detective Murdoch Book 7
Maureen Jennings
McClelland & Stewart
An imprint of Penguin Random House Canada

ISBN 9780771046797
eISBN 9781551991399
ASIN B0035JEPF4


It is with some sadness that I write this review. For this is the last of the Detective Murdoch books, and in fact the last of Jennings’s published novels for me to read. In the last 14 weeks I have read all of Jennings’s novels and the 1 published Murdoch novella or short story. This one was not my favorite, but I loved the story. I had figured out much of it, but there were some surprising twists at the end that I just did not see coming. I loved Jennings’s novels. And I would have no qualms recommend this or any of her other published works. I have been greatly impressed with her attention to details, her mastery of historical fiction. The subtle Catholic elements in most stories. And love that her different series are set in different historical periods. With every book I read I became more impressed with her skill and mastery of the writing arts. And I particularly love that the Murdoch books form one continuous story, with overlapping elements and characters. To do a comparison to science fiction the Murdoch novels are more like Babylon 5 (a single continuous story) than Star Trek where every episode can practice all stand alone. In case you do not get those reference, I will clearly state The Murdoch books are excellent reads as are all the books written by Jennings!

But back to this novel. The current events in this story take place in the spring of 1896. This story is set some time after the previous book and 19 years before the next. But part of this story goes back to July of 1858 and most of the events of this story are told in and around the consequences of that terrible event. This was a time during slavery in the United States, the underground railroad. The lead up to the US Civil War. There are some very disturbing murders in this story. And Some very disturbing events around treatment of slaves. 

In and around the investigation Murdoch’s life takes many changes. From his co lodgers getting engaged. To Brackenreid being in a tough place and relying on Murdoch’s discretion. To surprises in his own personal life. But all of that is shrouded by the murders and the need to solve the cases which are obviously linked. 

This is a great read in an excellent series. The Murdoch from the books is different from the TV series, but just as an enjoyable a character to follow. The historic setting of Toronto is an interesting backdrop to the book and the series. This specific story has a few excellent twists. A great read that was hard to put down. 

Books by Maureen Jennings:
Detective Murdoch Series:

0.5 Shipwreck
1.0 Except the Dying
2.0 Under the Dragon's Tail
3.0 Poor Tom Is Cold
4.0 Let Loose the Dogs
5.0 Night's Child
6.0 Vices of My Blood
7.0 A Journeyman to Grief
8.0 Let Darkness Bury the Dead
...

Detective Inspector Tom Tyler Series:
1.0 Season of Darkness
2.0 Beware This Boy
3.0 No Known Grave
4.0 Dead Ground in Between
...

Christine Morris Series:
1.0 Does Your Mother Know?
2.0 The K Handshape

...

Paradise Café Series:

1.0 Heat Wave
...

Other books:
The Map of Your Mind: Journeys into Creative Expression
Investigating Murdoch Mysteries: The Official Companion to the Series – with Michelle Ricci and Mir Bahmanyar
...