-->

Friday, 14 October 2022

An Isolated Incident - J.D. Kirk - DCI Logan Book 11

An Isolated Incident
DCI Logan Book 11
ISBN 9781912767441
ASIN B08VW18GK3


Another great story in an excellent series! This is the fifteenth volume from J.D. Kirk that I have read in the last few months. I have enjoyed all that I have now read to date, the first 11 in the DCI Logan series and also the first 3 in the Robert Hoon series, as well as stand alone VIP exclusive short story. I picked the first for a few reasons, but mainly because authors Alex Smith and JE Mayhew have both recommended the author and series. I am a big fan of Smith’s DCI Kett novels and Mayhew’s DCI Will Blake Series. I had no idea how addictive Kirk’s books would be. Like Mayhew and Smith, Kirk publishes under various names. Kirk publishes children books as Barry Hutchison, and other adult fiction as Barry J. Hutchison. He is coming up on 175 books across the three pen names.If I had known that or I might not have picked up this first one. Friends call me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I like, I try to read everything they have published. For now I will try and read the remaining books published as Kirk.

The description of this novel is:

“Do you know who's knocking at your door?

After a violent home invasion in the remote wilds of Glen Coe leaves a family of four dead, DCI Jack Logan and his team are brought in to lead the manhunt.

But, when one of the victims is revealed to be one half of legendary 1980s Glasgow-based comedy double act, ‘Neeps & Tatties’, Logan is forced to leave the Highlands and head back to his old stomping ground.

He may have spent his career dealing with the worst humanity has to offer, but to find out who killed Archie Tatties and his family, Logan will have to confront his most terrifying challenge yet - the seedy world of Scottish light entertainment.

An Isolated Incident is the eleventh book in JD Kirk’s internationally bestselling DCI Logan crime fiction series. Perfect for fans of Chris Brookmyre, Stuart Macbride, and Alex Smith.”

In these stories often the murders are gruesome. The humour is dark. And the Scottish temperament comes out from several different characters. This case is no different, in some ways it is worse, a case of a quadruple homicide a family, husband, wife, and two young children. And even for Loagn the cases with Children are harder. That being said the characters are written wonderfully. You can’t but enjoy Logan and his interactions with his team and even the new Chief Superintendent. Robert Hoon former Chief Superintendent makes a few appearances. The crime in this story is very dark. And because of the fame of the man, the team is looking for a deep motive. One of the team members is dealing with a cancer diagnosis. Logan is back in Glasgow following leads; this puts him in contact with an old flame. And others from his past. He pursues a few avenues of inquiry. We get a deeper look into Logan’s mind and learn more about his past. 

This is a great read in an excellent series. The two series written under the pen name J.D. Kirk are definitely Scottish Mysteries, and I can see the comparisons with both Smith and Mayhew’s works. Every time I finish a book by Kirk it takes willpower not to just pick up the next one and keep going. I can state that I will be reading all the DCI Logan books and the Robert Hoon Series as well. And Kirk has now hinted at a new series once the Hood quadrilogy wraps up. I know I will be reading all the books published buy this author under this name, and am therefore looking forward to that new series. Once caught up in this series branching out into his other works. I love that the stories are set in Scotland! This book and series would be great reads for fans of Jack Reacher, DCI Kett or DCI Will Blake. I state it again it is a great read in an excellent series! 

Books by J.D. Kirk:

DCI Logan Series:

Robert Hoon Thrillers:
Eastgate

Contributed to:
Everyday Kindness: A Collection of Uplifting Tales to Brighten Your Day

Books as Barry J. Hutchison:
Dan Deadman Space Detective Series:
Dial D for Deadman
Dead Inside
Dead in the Water

Space Team Series:
The Wrath of Vajazzle 
The Search for Splurt 
Song of the Space Siren 
The Guns of Nana Joan 
Return of the Dead Guy 
Planet of the Japes 
The Time Titan of Tomorrow 
The King of Space Must Die 
Sting of the Mustard Mines 
Sentienced to Death
The Hunt for Reduk Topa
A Lot of Weird Space Shizz: Collected Short Stories

Sidekicks Initiative Series:
The Sidekicks Initiative

The Bug Books Series:
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Complete Season One

Other Books:
World Killer

Children’s books as Barry Hutchison:
Invisible Fiends Series:
Mr Mumbles 
Raggy Maggie 
The Crowmaster 
Doc Mortis 
The Beast 
The Darkest Corners 

Afterworlds:
The Missing Remote of the Apocalypse
The 13th Horseman 
The Book of Doom 
...

Benjamin Blank Series:
The Shark-Headed Bear Thing 
The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing 
The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing 

Beaky Malone Series:
The World's Greatest Liar
Worst School Trip Ever
Super Creepy Camp
Weirdest Show on Earth

Generator Rex Series:
The Trade
Mirror Mirror

Living Ted Series:
Night of the Living Ted
Revenge of the Living Ted
Invasion of the Living Ted

Spectre Collectors Series:
Too Ghoul for School
A New York Nightmare!
Rise of the Ghostfather!

Other works:
Rise of the Rabbits















No comments: