-->

Monday, 3 October 2022

A Snowball's Chance in Hell - J.D. Kirk - DCI Logan Book 9

A Snowball's Chance in Hell
DCI Logan Book 9
ISBN 9781912767281
ASIN B08K4KHRX1


I skipped this book by accident and jumped to book 10. Some things in that story make a lot more sense now. I should have realized when reading book 10 when there were a few references to things I did not recall. So now I have had to go back and read this story, before continuing on. This was a great story! Even if I have ended up reading them out of line. It is another excellent read in a great series! This is the fourteenth volume from J.D. Kirk that I have read in as many weeks. I have enjoyed all that I have now read, the first 10 in the DCI Logan series and the first 3 in the Robert Hoon series, and a stand alone VIP exclusive short story

The description of this novel is:

“Which list are you on? When a young man is found frozen to death on a Highland street in mid-December, DCI Jack Logan initially puts it down to a Christmas night out gone tragically wrong. 

But, when a post mortem reveals something more sinister, Jack discovers he is dealing with a cold, calculating killer with a long line of victims, a talent for torture, and a perverse sense of justice.

Half a decade ago, the press dubbed him ‘The Iceman’ - a twisted vigilante who successfully evaded capture for two years, before melting away into the night.

Now, The Iceman has come back. His naughty list is longer than ever.

And it contains some worryingly familiar names…A Snowball’s Chance in Hell is the ninth book in the internationally bestselling DCI Jack Logan Scottish crime fiction series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Stuart Macbride, and Val McDermid.”

I would add that it is perfect for fans of JE Mayhew, Alex Smith, Andre Grant, Lee Child, and Maureen Jennings. Much like the Murdoch Mystery books and TV Series these book tell a continuous story. They follow a timeline. But this one stretches back to a case 10 years earlier. A Case before Logan ever came up north. A case that DI Ben Forde and Hamza Khaled and former DSI Robert Hoon had worked, that case was disturbing and this one is proving even more so. For 10 years ago they believed they caught a serial killer called 'The Iceman'. But details that were left out of the media are back and a chilling piece of evidence. Two quotes early from the book set up the story:

“They said that it was fire that cleansed, but that had never felt quite right. Fire consumed. The cold, on the other hand, stripped you bare. Left you exposed. Made you face up to all the things you were.”

“Fire could take you in seconds. But the cold? The cold took hours to wear you down, whittle you away, breath by agonising breath. Cold gave you time to think. To reflect. To regret. Cold preserved your pain, froze it in time, each painful second staying on long past its welcome, as extremities rotted and internal organs slowed, before shutting themselves down one by one.”

And one of the most chilling lines in the story:

“I am the Iceman. I have always been the Iceman, it read. I killed all those people.”

It appears more than once and it becomes more chilling each time it is repeated. Either vocally or in print. And the final chapter, wow! And though I know the cliff hanger from this story is not resolved in the next it only heightens the tension. In this story we find out some more about the past of the team members. We also learn some about their families. We get some great insight into them as people and why the team works so well together. But could this case destroy them all? To find out you will need to read this story.

I picked the first DCI Logan story for a few reasons, but mainly because authors Alex Smith and JE Mayhew have both recommended the author and series. I am a big fan of Smith’s DCI Kett novels and Mayhew’s DCI Will Blake Series. I had no idea how addictive Kirk’s books would be. Like Mayhew and Smith, Kirk publishes under various names. Kirk publishes children books as Barry Hutchison, and other adult fiction as Barry J. Hutchison. He is coming up on 175 books across the three pen names. Seriously! If I had known that or I might not have picked up this first one. Friends call me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I like, I try to read everything they have published. For now I will try and read the remaining books published as Kirk. Kirk’s books are very dark and at times over the top. They are not for all readers. But for those who like a Mystery/Thriller with a bit of Crime procedural mixed in these are really good reads. This is another great read in a dark crim thriller series! 

Books by J.D. Kirk:

DCI Logan Series:

Robert Hoon Thrillers:
Eastgate

Contributed to:
Everyday Kindness: A Collection of Uplifting Tales to Brighten Your Day

Books as Barry J. Hutchison:
Dan Deadman Space Detective Series:
Dial D for Deadman
Dead Inside
Dead in the Water

Space Team Series:
Space Team
The Wrath of Vajazzle 
The Search for Splurt 
Song of the Space Siren 
The Guns of Nana Joan 
Return of the Dead Guy 
Planet of the Japes 
The Time Titan of Tomorrow 
The King of Space Must Die 
Sting of the Mustard Mines 
Sentienced to Death
The Hunt for Reduk Topa
A Lot of Weird Space Shizz: Collected Short Stories

Sidekicks Initiative Series:
The Sidekicks Initiative

The Bug Books Series:
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Complete Season One

Other Books:
World Killer

Children’s books as Barry Hutchison:
Invisible Fiends Series:
Mr Mumbles 
Raggy Maggie 
The Crowmaster 
Doc Mortis 
The Beast 
The Darkest Corners 

Afterworlds:
The Missing Remote of the Apocalypse
The 13th Horseman 
The Book of Doom 
...

Benjamin Blank Series:
The Shark-Headed Bear Thing 
The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing 
The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing 

Beaky Malone Series:
The World's Greatest Liar
Worst School Trip Ever
Super Creepy Camp
Weirdest Show on Earth

Generator Rex Series:
The Trade
Mirror Mirror

Living Ted Series:
Night of the Living Ted
Revenge of the Living Ted
Invasion of the Living Ted

Spectre Collectors Series:
Too Ghoul for School
A New York Nightmare!
Rise of the Ghostfather!

Other works:
Rise of the Rabbits

















No comments: