-->

Saturday, 5 November 2022

City of Scars - J.D. Kirk - DCI Logan Book 14

City of Scars
DCI Logan Book 14
ISBN 9781912767625
ASIN B09XMX1QVH


It was with a little sadness that I finished this novel. I have been reading a book by J.D. Kirk a week for a few months now, and after this I only have one left and I will be all caught up. It is another great read in an excellent series! This is the eighteenth volume from J.D. Kirk that I have read in the last few months. I have enjoyed all that I have now read to date, the first 14 in the DCI Logan series and also the first 3 in the Robert Hoon series, as well as stand alone VIP exclusive short story. I picked the first for a few reasons, but mainly because authors Alex Smith and JE Mayhew have both recommended the author and series. I am a big fan of Smith’s DCI Kett novels and Mayhew’s DCI Will Blake Series. I had no idea how addictive Kirk’s books would be or that like Mayhew and Smith, Kirk publishes under three different names. Kirk publishes children books as Barry Hutchison, and other adult fiction as Barry J. Hutchison. He is coming up on 175 books across the three pen names. If I had known that or I might not have picked up this first one. Friends call me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I like, I try to read everything they have published. Unfortunately I only have 1 left to be caught up to those published under this pen name. For now I will try and read the remaining books published as Kirk.

The description of this novel is:

“Some scars never truly heal.

Life has been slowly improving for DCI Jack Logan lately. Happily settled down with the woman of his dreams and a dog he begrudgingly tolerates, things are finally going Jack’s way.

But, could all that be about to change?

When a sadistic killer begins picking off victims on the streets of Inverness, Jack’s boss decides to bring in some outside help. But the new team member is an old flame from Jack’s past who isn’t quite ready to let him go.

And, as the dead bodies rack up, the Happily Ever After that Jack has been building for himself might just be the next victim to fall…

City of Scars is the 14th books in the multi-million selling DCI Logan Scottish crime fiction series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, LJ Ross, and Stuart MacBride.”

In these stories often the murders are often gruesome, and as a guy this time particularly so. I know few men who could read the murder scenes and not wince at least a little. This story starts with Jack out of commission with the flu. To fill in during his illness the boss calls in DCI Heather Filson. She happens to be Logan’s old flame. And she appears to be doing everything she can to reignite that, and if not then to break up Logan and Shona. Something is off with Sinead and both Filson and Maguire have it figured out before the officer herself. DCI Logan once on the mend is back at it. He is struggling to play referee between Heather and Shona and Heather and the rest of the team. Though he does appreciate how well the two of them can work together, especially working a witness. There are a few different suspects but things take a wicked turn and twist and soon one of the team is at risk again.

Another great read in an excellent series. I love the two series written under the pen name J.D. Kirk are definitely Scottish Mysteries, and I can see the comparisons with Smith’s and Mayhew’s works, as well as several other more mainstream names. Each time I finish a book by Kirk it takes willpower not to just pick up the next one and keep going. I will be reading all the books published buy this author under this name, and I am looking forward to that new series. Once I read the remaining 1 DCI Logan books to get caught up, I will be branching out into his other works. I love that the stories are set in Scotland! This book and series would be great reads for fans of Jack Reacher, Jack Ryan, or Temperance Brennan. I state it again it is a great read in an excellent series!  

Books by J.D. Kirk:

DCI Logan Series:

Robert Hoon Thrillers:
Eastgate

Contributed to:
Everyday Kindness: A Collection of Uplifting Tales to Brighten Your Day

Books as Barry J. Hutchison:
Dan Deadman Space Detective Series:
Dial D for Deadman
Dead Inside
Dead in the Water

Space Team Series:
Space Team
The Wrath of Vajazzle 
The Search for Splurt 
Song of the Space Siren 
The Guns of Nana Joan 
Return of the Dead Guy 
Planet of the Japes 
The Time Titan of Tomorrow 
The King of Space Must Die 
Sting of the Mustard Mines 
Sentienced to Death
The Hunt for Reduk Topa
A Lot of Weird Space Shizz: Collected Short Stories

Sidekicks Initiative Series:
The Sidekicks Initiative

The Bug Books Series:
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Complete Season One

Other Books:
World Killer

Children’s books as Barry Hutchison:
Invisible Fiends Series:
Mr Mumbles 
Raggy Maggie 
The Crowmaster 
Doc Mortis 
The Beast 
The Darkest Corners 

Afterworlds:
The Missing Remote of the Apocalypse
The 13th Horseman 
The Book of Doom 
...

Benjamin Blank Series:
The Shark-Headed Bear Thing 
The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing 
The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing 

Beaky Malone Series:
The World's Greatest Liar
Worst School Trip Ever
Super Creepy Camp
Weirdest Show on Earth

Generator Rex Series:
The Trade
Mirror Mirror

Living Ted Series:
Night of the Living Ted
Revenge of the Living Ted
Invasion of the Living Ted

Spectre Collectors Series:
Too Ghoul for School
A New York Nightmare!
Rise of the Ghostfather!

Other works:
Rise of the Rabbits
















No comments: