-->

Monday, 4 July 2022

Blood and Treachery - J.D. Kirk - DCI Logan Book 4

Blood and Treachery
DCI Logan Book 4
ISBN 9781912767168
ASIN B08FLXSBRS
ASIN B07Y355X28


This is the sixth volume from J.D. Kirk that I have read in the last few months. I have enjoyed all that I have read, the first 4 in the DCI Logan series and the first two in the Robert Hoon series. I picked the first for a few reasons, but mainly because authors Alex Smith and JE Mayhew have both recommended the author and series. I am a big fan of Smith’s DCI Kett novels and Mayhew’s DCI Will Blake Series. And having ripped through both of their series and slowing working through all of Mayhew’s others works I decided to give Kirk’s a try. Like Mayhew and Smith, Kirk publishes under various names. Kirk publishes children books as Barry Hutchison, and other adult fiction as Barry J. Hutchison. He is coming up on 175 books across the three pen names. If I had known that or I might not have picked up this first one. Friends call me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I like, I try to read everything they have published. For now I will try and read the remaining books published as Kirk.

Both series under the pen name J.D. Kirk are definitely are Scottish Mysteries, and I can see the comparisons with both Smith and Mayhew’s works. The Logan books are between Smith and Mayhew for violence and intensity. But the Hoon books are much closer to Smith’s Extreme end. This one was another great read. Each time I finish a book by Kirk it takes willpower not to just pick up the next one and keep going. The description of this novel is:

“How far would you go to bury the truth?

While searching for a missing hill walker, Glencoe Mountain Rescue Team uncovers a body - just not the one they were looking for.

Still dealing with the fallout from their last case, DCI Jack Logan and his team venture south from Inverness to investigate a brutal, gangland-style execution in the wilds of the Highland countryside.

As the victim's dark secrets are gradually revealed, Jack uncovers the rot lurking beneath the stunning scenery, making himself the target of a criminal more dangerous than any he has faced before.

If he isn't careful, it won't just be a murder he's dealing with in Glencoe.

It'll be a massacre.”

This story has some action, but less than the others I have read in the series so far. And Logan’s struggle with the drink, was masterfully written. The story follows the case of a body found while search and rescue are out looking for someone else. It turns out to be a young man with a wife and daughter at home. But soon the pieces are not fitting well. Logan and the team cross paths with a family known to the law, and one that a different team is investigating. They are told to back off, but the clues keep leading them in the same direction. When they split up to do some interviews, things take a decided turn for the worse. And we get to see Logan at his most primeval or primitive. In this incident it was like watching Jack Reacher if he lost his temper. Brutal, vicious, and yet completely in control and in reality controlling the situation and the outcome, mostly by sheer force of will. 

But from the very beginning something is not sitting well with Logan. And as it keeps niggling the back of his brain they work the case trying to put all the pieces together. 

I started this book late at night and should have waited. I stayed up way later than I should have that first evening. I just could not put the book down. I have stated before that the characters are believable, and the events unfortunately are also. The turn of events at the end did take me by surprise. 

After having read the first four DCI Logan books and the first two in the Robert Hoon Series I know I will be reading all the books published buy this author under this pen name of J.D. Kirk. This is an excellent offering if you love crime procedural books, or books along the lines of the TV Series The Commander or Wired in the Blood, this would be a great story to pick up. It is an excellent crime thriller and a great mystery. I love that it is set in Scotland! It would be great for fans of Jack Reacher, DCI Kett or DCI Will Blake. It is a good read in an excellent series. I highly recommend it.

Books by J.D. Kirk:

DCI Logan Series:

Robert Hoon Thrillers:
Eastgate

Contributed to:
Everyday Kindness: A Collection of Uplifting Tales to Brighten Your Day

Books as Barry J. Hutchison:
Dan Deadman Space Detective Series:
Dial D for Deadman
Dead Inside
Dead in the Water

Space Team Series:
The Wrath of Vajazzle 
The Search for Splurt 
Song of the Space Siren 
The Guns of Nana Joan 
Return of the Dead Guy 
Planet of the Japes 
The Time Titan of Tomorrow 
The King of Space Must Die 
Sting of the Mustard Mines 
Sentienced to Death
The Hunt for Reduk Topa
A Lot of Weird Space Shizz: Collected Short Stories

Sidekicks Initiative Series:
The Sidekicks Initiative

The Bug Books Series:
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Complete Season One

Other Books:
World Killer

Children’s books as Barry Hutchison:
Invisible Fiends Series:
Mr Mumbles 
Raggy Maggie 
The Crowmaster 
Doc Mortis 
The Beast 
The Darkest Corners 

Afterworlds:
The Missing Remote of the Apocalypse
The 13th Horseman 
The Book of Doom 
...

Benjamin Blank Series:
The Shark-Headed Bear Thing 
The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing 
The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing 

Beaky Malone Series:
The World's Greatest Liar
Worst School Trip Ever
Super Creepy Camp
Weirdest Show on Earth

Generator Rex Series:
The Trade
Mirror Mirror

Living Ted Series:
Night of the Living Ted
Revenge of the Living Ted
Invasion of the Living Ted

Spectre Collectors Series:
Too Ghoul for School
A New York Nightmare!
Rise of the Ghostfather!

Other works:
Rise of the Rabbits















No comments: