-->

Tuesday, 13 September 2022

A Death Most Monumental - J.D. Kirk - DCI Logan Book 8

A Death Most Monumental
DCI Logan Book 8
ISBN 978-1912767250
ASIN B08F73SVJM


Wow what an awesome read in an excellent series! This is the eleventh volume from J.D. Kirk that I have read in the last few months. I have enjoyed all that I have now read, the first 8 in the DCI Logan series and the first 3 in the Robert Hoon series, and a stand alone VIP exclusive short story. I picked the first for a few reasons, but mainly because authors Alex Smith and JE Mayhew have both recommended the author and series. I am a big fan of Smith’s DCI Kett novels and Mayhew’s DCI Will Blake Series.  I had no idea how addictive Kirk’s books would be. Like Mayhew and Smith, Kirk publishes under various names. Kirk publishes children books as Barry Hutchison, and other adult fiction as Barry J. Hutchison. He is coming up on 175 books across the three pen names. Seriously! If I had known that or I might not have picked up this first one. Friends call me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I like, I try to read everything they have published. For now I will try and read the remaining books published as Kirk.

The description of this novel is:

“We all have our little secrets.

When the remains of a brutally murdered young woman are left hanging from the Glenfinnan Monument in the Highlands of Scotland, DCI Jack Logan and his Major Investigations Team are dispatched to investigate.

At first, the case appears to be fairly open and shut. But, as evidence mounts, Jack uncovers some shocking truths about the victim that risk turning the investigation into a potentially explosive international incident.

With a billionaire baying for his blood, a former FBI agent breathing down his neck, and half the world's press watching his every move, it isn't the murderer that Jack's afraid might be the end of him.

It's the stress.

And don't get him started on the bloody tourists...”

In these stories often the murders are gruesome. The humour is dark. And the Scottish temperament comes out from several different characters. But that being said the characters are written wonderfully. You can’t but enjoy Logan and his interactions with his team and even the new Chief Superintendent. And in this one we get a lot of the team. And the Billionaire Texan and his lackey a former FBI agent provide some new entertainment. Throw in an extremely intoxicated Hoon, sleeping in 2 partially finished guess houses and the is ample opportunity for hilarity, outright laughter, and more than a little yelling. This one is not as gruesome as most of the others. It is far more crime procedural and an ensemble piece. We get a much clearer look at Logan, his process and to some extent his genius. 

To find out if Logan’s nagging suspicions are correct or of the most obvious suspect is really to blame you will need to read this Scottish Crime novel! I will warn you I definitely laughed at the ending. This is another great book in an excellent series. The two series written under the pen name J.D. Kirk are definitely Scottish Mysteries, and I can see the comparisons with both Smith and Mayhew’s works. Every time I finish a book by Kirk it takes willpower not to just pick up the next one and keep going. I can state that I will be reading all the DCI Logan books and the Robert Hoon Series as well. I know I will be reading all the books published buy this author under this name. And once caught up branching out into his other works. I love that the stories are set in Scotland! This book and series would be great read for fans of Jack Reacher, DCI Kett or DCI Will Blake. A great read in an excellent series! 

Books by J.D. Kirk:

DCI Logan Series:
An Isolated Incident
Colder than the Grave
Come Hell or High Water
City of Scars
Here Lie the Dead

Robert Hoon Thrillers:
Eastgate

Contributed to:
Everyday Kindness: A Collection of Uplifting Tales to Brighten Your Day

Books as Barry J. Hutchison:
Dan Deadman Space Detective Series:
Dial D for Deadman
Dead Inside
Dead in the Water

Space Team Series:
Space Team
The Wrath of Vajazzle 
The Search for Splurt 
Song of the Space Siren 
The Guns of Nana Joan 
Return of the Dead Guy 
Planet of the Japes 
The Time Titan of Tomorrow 
The King of Space Must Die 
Sting of the Mustard Mines 
Sentienced to Death
The Hunt for Reduk Topa
A Lot of Weird Space Shizz: Collected Short Stories

Sidekicks Initiative Series:
The Sidekicks Initiative

The Bug Books Series:
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Complete Season One

Other Books:
World Killer

Children’s books as Barry Hutchison:
Invisible Fiends Series:
Mr Mumbles 
Raggy Maggie 
The Crowmaster 
Doc Mortis 
The Beast 
The Darkest Corners 

Afterworlds:
The Missing Remote of the Apocalypse
The 13th Horseman 
The Book of Doom 
...

Benjamin Blank Series:
The Shark-Headed Bear Thing 
The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing 
The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing 

Beaky Malone Series:
The World's Greatest Liar
Worst School Trip Ever
Super Creepy Camp
Weirdest Show on Earth

Generator Rex Series:
The Trade
Mirror Mirror

Living Ted Series:
Night of the Living Ted
Revenge of the Living Ted
Invasion of the Living Ted

Spectre Collectors Series:
Too Ghoul for School
A New York Nightmare!
Rise of the Ghostfather!

Other works:
Rise of the Rabbits















No comments: