Sunday 5 March 2023

One For the Ages - J.D. Kirk - DCI Logan Book 16

One For the Ages
DCI Logan Book 16
ISBN 9781912767724
ASIN B0BLP8JL4W


It was weird waiting months for this volume to drop. Last year I read about a book a week after reading my first DCI Logan novel. And this marks the 21st under the Kirk name and coming up on a dozen under the names Barry Hutchison and Barry J, Hutchison. So this is the 33rd volume from this author in under a year that I have read. I have now read the first 16 in the DCI Logan series and all 4 in the Robert Hoon series, as well as stand alone VIP exclusive short story. I picked the first for a few reasons, but mainly because authors Alex Smith and JE Mayhew have both recommended the author and series. I am a big fan of Smith’s DCI Kett novels and Mayhew’s DCI Will Blake Series. I have been hooked since that first read. I had no idea how addictive Kirk’s books would be or that like Mayhew and Smith, Kirk publishes under three different names. Kirk publishes children books as Barry Hutchison, and other adult fiction as Barry J. Hutchison. He is coming up on 200 books across the three pen names. If I had known that or I might not have picked up this first one. Friends call me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I like, I try to read everything they have published. Being caught up now on his works as J.D. Kirk I will have to wait for each new one to come out. But back to this volume.

The description of this novel is:

“Age is just a number... Until yours is up.

When a blood-soaked old man is spotted wandering through a sleepy fishing village in the far north of Scotland, his neighbours think he’s been in an accident.

Until he leads them to his home, and to the carefully arranged remains of his late wife.

It is the first murder that the remote Highland village has ever seen.

It will not be the last.

Someone is targeting the elderly and vulnerable in their homes. Someone they know. Someone they trust.

Arriving to lead the manhunt, DCI Jack Logan finds a close-knit community closing ranks. Can Jack break down the wall of silence before more lives are lost? Or, in this twisted, sadistic killer, has Jack Logan finally met his match?”

Like many of the other stories in this series these murders are gruesome and particularly shocking based on the ages of the victims. Soon Logan and the team are working out of a small detachment, in a pretty closed off community. Sinead is, back at the unit, doing research and coordinating things. She is about to head off on leave to have her twins. She is feeling left out and useless. She is also trying to make a difference in a case one last time. Shona is pondering the loss of the opportunity of children. Tammi-jo is assigned to fill in on the team, and she just does not stop talking. Hoon makes an appearance and plays a pretty critical role. As time is ticking away can Logan and the team fill in all the pieces and solve the case?

This is another great read in an excellent series. I love the two series written under the pen name J.D. Kirk are definitely Scottish Mysteries, and I can see the comparisons with Smith’s and Mayhew’s works, as well as several other more mainstream names. Kirk has also announced a new series, DCI Heather Filson, which is out soon. Each time I finish a book by Kirk it takes willpower not to just pick up the next one and keep going, no matter what name they were published under. I have now read all the books published buy this author under this name, and I am looking forward to that new series that has been teased. As mentioned it is now time to branch out further into his other works, having read s stand alone and 10 from series. I love that the stories are set in Scotland! This book and series would be great reads for fans of Jack Reacher, Jack Ryan, or Temperance Brennan. I state it again this is a great read in an excellent series!     

Books by J.D. Kirk:

DCI Logan Series:

Robert Hoon Thrillers:

DI Heather Filson Series:

Contributed to:
Everyday Kindness: A Collection of Uplifting Tales to Brighten Your Day

Books as Barry J. Hutchison:
Dan Deadman Space Detective Series:

Space Team Series:
The Search for Splurt 
Song of the Space Siren 
The Guns of Nana Joan 
Return of the Dead Guy 
Planet of the Japes 
The Time Titan of Tomorrow 
The King of Space Must Die 
Sting of the Mustard Mines 
Sentienced to Death
The Hunt for Reduk Topa
A Lot of Weird Space Shizz: Collected Short Stories

Sidekicks Initiative Series:

The Bug Books Series:
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Complete Season One

Other Books:

Children’s books as Barry Hutchison:
Invisible Fiends Series:
The Crowmaster 
Doc Mortis 
The Beast 
The Darkest Corners 

Afterworlds:
The Missing Remote of the Apocalypse
The Book of Doom 
...

Benjamin Blank Series:
The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing 

Beaky Malone Series:

Generator Rex Series:

Living Ted Series:
Revenge of the Living Ted
Invasion of the Living Ted

Spectre Collectors Series:
Too Ghoul for School
A New York Nightmare!

Other works:


















No comments: