-->

Monday, 14 November 2022

Here Lie the Dead - J.D. Kirk - DCI Logan Book 15

Here Lie the Dead
DCI Logan Book 15
ISBN 9781912767649
ASIN B09ZF94Q1D


It was with a some sadness that I finished this novel. I have been reading a book by J.D. Kirk a week for a few months now, and after this I am all caught up. I believe the wait will be several months for the next volume. This is another great read in an excellent series! This is the nineteenth volume from J.D. Kirk that I have read in the last few months. I have enjoyed all that I have now read to date, a few were pretty gruesome, but watching Logan and the team, and even Hoon makes for some very entertaining reading. I have read the first 15 in the DCI Logan series and also the first 3 in the Robert Hoon series, as well as stand alone VIP exclusive short story. I picked the first for a few reasons, but mainly because authors Alex Smith and JE Mayhew have both recommended the author and series. I am a big fan of Smith’s DCI Kett novels and Mayhew’s DCI Will Blake Series. I was hooked from that first read. I had no idea how addictive Kirk’s books would be or that like Mayhew and Smith, Kirk publishes under three different names. Kirk publishes children books as Barry Hutchison, and other adult fiction as Barry J. Hutchison. He is coming up on 175 books across the three pen names. If I had known that or I might not have picked up this first one. Friends call me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I like, I try to read everything they have published. Being caught up now on his works as J.D. Kirk I will now branch out to the others. But back to this volume.

The description of this novel is:

“Six months ago, a girl vanished. Now, it’s happening again.

When the body of a teenager is discovered near Eilean Donan Castle several months after she disappeared, DCI Jack Logan and his team journey across the Highlands to investigate.

As they start to unpick the young woman’s life, the secrets and lies they expose soon threaten to tear the small, rural community apart.

But, when a second girl goes missing in similar circumstances, it isn’t just a murder investigation that Jack finds himself running.

It’s a race against time.”

Like many of the other stories in this series the murder is gruesome, and as a father of daughters this time particularly so. This story starts with a wedding, and a particularly nasty Bridezilla! And that was even before a body was found during her photo shoot. Soon Logan and the team are working out of a very small detachment. The Town is in an uproar. And Another girl has gone missing. The layers and layers of secrets in both girls’ lives, and in the town is staggering. It is up to Logan and the team, and they are racing against the clock.

It is another great read in an excellent series. I love the two series written under the pen name J.D. Kirk are definitely Scottish Mysteries, and I can see the comparisons with Smith’s and Mayhew’s works, as well as several other more mainstream names. Each time I finish a book by Kirk it takes willpower not to just pick up the next one and keep going. I have now read all the books published buy this author under this name, and I am looking forward to that new series that has been teased, and the forthcoming Hood and Logan novels. As mentioned it is now time to branch out into his other works. I love that the stories are set in Scotland! This book and series would be great reads for fans of Jack Reacher, Jack Ryan, or Temperance Brennan. I state it again it is a great read in an excellent series!   

Books by J.D. Kirk:

DCI Logan Series:
One for the Ages

Robert Hoon Thrillers:
Eastgate

Contributed to:
Everyday Kindness: A Collection of Uplifting Tales to Brighten Your Day

Books as Barry J. Hutchison:
Dan Deadman Space Detective Series:
Dial D for Deadman
Dead Inside
Dead in the Water

Space Team Series:
Space Team
The Wrath of Vajazzle 
The Search for Splurt 
Song of the Space Siren 
The Guns of Nana Joan 
Return of the Dead Guy 
Planet of the Japes 
The Time Titan of Tomorrow 
The King of Space Must Die 
Sting of the Mustard Mines 
Sentienced to Death
The Hunt for Reduk Topa
A Lot of Weird Space Shizz: Collected Short Stories

Sidekicks Initiative Series:
The Sidekicks Initiative

The Bug Books Series:
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Complete Season One

Other Books:
World Killer

Children’s books as Barry Hutchison:
Invisible Fiends Series:
Mr Mumbles 
Raggy Maggie 
The Crowmaster 
Doc Mortis 
The Beast 
The Darkest Corners 

Afterworlds:
The Missing Remote of the Apocalypse
The 13th Horseman 
The Book of Doom 
...

Benjamin Blank Series:
The Shark-Headed Bear Thing 
The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing 
The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing 

Beaky Malone Series:
The World's Greatest Liar
Worst School Trip Ever
Super Creepy Camp
Weirdest Show on Earth

Generator Rex Series:
The Trade
Mirror Mirror

Living Ted Series:
Night of the Living Ted
Revenge of the Living Ted
Invasion of the Living Ted

Spectre Collectors Series:
Too Ghoul for School
A New York Nightmare!
Rise of the Ghostfather!

Other works:
Rise of the Rabbits


















No comments: