-->

Friday, 12 August 2022

A Whisper of Sorrows - J.D. Kirk - DCI Logan Book 6

A Whisper of Sorrows
DCI Logan Book 6
ISBN 9781912767229
ASIN B08LMNSSPR
ASIN B088QLRT9D


This is the ninth volume from J.D. Kirk that I have read in the last few months. I have enjoyed all that I have now read, the first 6 in the DCI Logan series and the first two in the Robert Hoon series. I picked the first for a few reasons, but mainly because authors Alex Smith and JE Mayhew have both recommended the author and series. I am a big fan of Smith’s DCI Kett novels and Mayhew’s DCI Will Blake Series. And having ripped through both of their series and slowing working through all of Mayhew’s others works I decided to give Kirk’s a try. Like Mayhew and Smith, Kirk publishes under various names. Kirk publishes children books as Barry Hutchison, and other adult fiction as Barry J. Hutchison. He is coming up on 175 books across the three pen names. If I had known that or I might not have picked up this first one. Friends call me a ‘completionist’ in that when I find an author I like, I try to read everything they have published. For now I will try and read the remaining books published as Kirk.

The description of this novel is:

“The hunter has become the hunted.

Ten years ago, DCI Jack Logan caught the twisted child killer known as Mister Whisper.

Two days ago, Mister Whisper escaped.

Now, Jack must track down the most ruthless enemy he has ever faced before he can strike again. But, after ten years behind bars, it isn't just murder that Mister Whisper has in mind.

It's revenge.”

This story takes many arcs from earlier books in the series and binds them together. It also hits a level of terror not yet seen in these stories. A serial killer is on the loose and leaving a trail of bodies and clues behind. He is out to get Logan one way or another. He has been pretending to be a vegetable for the last 10 years, 10 long years to plan this. Ten long years to plan his vengeance and revenge.  Will those plan work, or will Logan pull it off again? To find out you will need to read this most intense crime thriller! 

The two series written under the pen name J.D. Kirk are definitely Scottish Mysteries, and I can see the comparisons with both Smith and Mayhew’s works. Every time I finish a book by Kirk it takes willpower not to just pick up the next one and keep going. This is a good read in a great series. I can easily state that after having read the first six DCI Logan books and the first two in the Robert Hoon Series I know I will be reading all the books published buy this author under this name. I love that the stories are set in Scotland! This book and series would be great read for fans of Jack Reacher, DCI Kett or DCI Will Blake. It is a good read in an excellent series. But be warned once you finish this one you will want the next on hand to continue the story.

Books by J.D. Kirk:

DCI Logan Series:
An Isolated Incident
Colder than the Grave
Come Hell or High Water
City of Scars

Robert Hoon Thrillers:
Eastgate

Contributed to:
Everyday Kindness: A Collection of Uplifting Tales to Brighten Your Day

Books as Barry J. Hutchison:
Dan Deadman Space Detective Series:
Dial D for Deadman
Dead Inside
Dead in the Water

Space Team Series:
Space Team
The Wrath of Vajazzle 
The Search for Splurt 
Song of the Space Siren 
The Guns of Nana Joan 
Return of the Dead Guy 
Planet of the Japes 
The Time Titan of Tomorrow 
The King of Space Must Die 
Sting of the Mustard Mines 
Sentienced to Death
The Hunt for Reduk Topa
A Lot of Weird Space Shizz: Collected Short Stories

Sidekicks Initiative Series:
The Sidekicks Initiative

The Bug Books Series:
Episode 1
Episode 2
Episode 3
Complete Season One

Other Books:
World Killer

Children’s books as Barry Hutchison:
Invisible Fiends Series:
Mr Mumbles 
Raggy Maggie 
The Crowmaster 
Doc Mortis 
The Beast 
The Darkest Corners 

Afterworlds:
The Missing Remote of the Apocalypse
The 13th Horseman 
The Book of Doom 
...

Benjamin Blank Series:
The Shark-Headed Bear Thing 
The Swivel-Eyed Ogre-Thing 
The Moon-Faced Ghoul-Thing 

Beaky Malone Series:
The World's Greatest Liar
Worst School Trip Ever
Super Creepy Camp
Weirdest Show on Earth

Generator Rex Series:
The Trade
Mirror Mirror

Living Ted Series:
Night of the Living Ted
Revenge of the Living Ted
Invasion of the Living Ted

Spectre Collectors Series:
Too Ghoul for School
A New York Nightmare!
Rise of the Ghostfather!

Other works:
Rise of the Rabbits















No comments: