Thursday 26 October 2023

Gordon Korman - Sheelagh Matthews - Remarkable Writers

Remarkable Writers
Sheelagh Matthews
Weigl Pub Inc
ISBN 9781619137202
eISBN 9781619130555

I believe this volume is currently out of print. I stumbled across it while doing research on Korman’s books. The Kindle edition of this volume is no longer listed. And the Print editions all seem out of stock. But It was available through several digital libraries. There appears to have been at least 2 different editions of the volume. The volume seems to have been available between 2012 and 2019; with paperback, hardcover, library and eBook editions. I believe the AV2 by Weigl has now become Lightbox Learning. 

The chapters in this volume are:

AV2 Book Code 
Introducing Gordon Korman 
Early Life 
Growing Up 
Developing Skills 
Early Achievements 
Tricks of the Trade 
Remarkable Books 
From Big Ideas to Books 
Gordon Korman Today 
Fan Information 
Write a Biography
Test Yourself 
Writing Terms 
Key Words I Index 
Log on to 

The description of this volume is:

“Gordon Korman wrote his first published book when he was in junior high. It was written as an assignment for English class. By the time he was a senior in high school, Korman had written and published four books and was working on a fifth. Remarkable Writers is a biography series that profiles and celebrates significant children’s authors. Each book explores the life of a well-known children’s writer and provides an overview of his or her most popular books. Additional facts are provided through a timeline, awards, and fan information.”

I highlighted a number of passages while reading this volume, some of them are:

“Gordon Korman says he knew writing was the career for him by his senior year of high school. By then, he had written and published four books and was working on a fifth. Gordon is the author of the popular Bruno and Boots series of books, which is set in a boarding school for boys. This award-winning and best-selling author has been writing books to entertain children and youth since he was only 12 years old.”

“Most of Gordon's early books were comedies, sometimes based on his own life. Later, his writing shifted to adventure and action, with stories full of suspense and mystery. This led to an invitation to be a part of the writing team for a brand new concept in books, an interactive action series called The 39 Clues.”

“Gordon Korman 'vas born on October 23, 1963, in Montreal, Quebec and raised in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. His father was an accountant, and his mother, Bernice, wrote a humorous column for a local newspaper.”

“An only child, Gordon amused himself with writing from a very early age. In elementary school, he would take a creative angle with his schoolwork whenever possible. When it was time to write all the week's spelling words in a sentence, Gordon would come up with the silliest and funniest sentences he could imagine.”

“In middle school, Gordon was the monitor for his school's Scholastic Arrow Book Club. One day, he mailed the manuscript from his English assignment to Scholastic at the address on the Arrow book order form. Two years later, in 1978, Scholastic published his book. Gordon was only 14 years old. The publication of This Can't Be Happening at Macdonald Hall! began a writing career for Gordon that would span decades.”

“Gordon was 17 years old when he was given the Air Canada Award for the Most Promising Writer Under 35 by the Canadian Authors Association. He had been writing one book a year since his success with his best-selling first book. He would write these books while on vacation from school.”

“I try to make my characters funny and/or exciting because writing a novel is almost like living with those characters for a few months."
-Gordon Korman

It was fascinating to read this little volume about Korman. Both my son and I love reading books by Korman. I discovered his works later in life and have been trying to read and review all his books. And my son has read a number of them to or with me. Mid last year, in the summer of 2022, Korman published his 100th book. Yes you read that correctly, his hundredth book. I have been reading one every 5 or 6 weeks and plan on reading and reviewing them all. 

As a fan of Korman’s this was a great read. 

Books by Gordon Korman:
MacDonald Hall Series:
The Wizzle War (1982)
         (formerly The War With Mr. Wizzle)
The Zucchini Warriors (1988)
Light’s Camera, Disaster (1991)
          (aka Macdonald Hall Goes Hollywood)
The Jokes on Us (1995)
          (formerly Something Fishy at Macdonald Hall)

Bugs Potter Series:

Jeremy Bloom Series:
The D−Poems of Jeremy Bloom (1992)
The Last-Place Sports Poems of Jeremy Bloom (1996)

Monday Night Football Series:
The Quarterback Exchange (1997)
Running Back Conversion (1997)
Super Bowl Switch (1997)
Heavy Artillery (1997)
Ultimate Scoring Machine (1998)
NFL Rules! Bloopers, Pranks, Upsets, and Touchdowns (1998)

Masterminds Series:
Masterminds (2015)

Slapshots Series:
The Stars From Mars (1999)
All-Mars All-Stars/The Dream Team (1999)
The Face-off Phony (2000)
Cup Crazy (2000)
Ouch I got slapped (2023)
4-in-1 Slapshots: The Complete Collection (2008)

Nose Pickers Series:
Nose Pickers from Outer Space! (1999)
Planet of the Nose Pickers (2000)
Your Mummy Is a Nose Picker (2000)
Invasion of the Nose Pickers (2001)
4-in-1 The Ultimate Nose-Picker Collection (2006)

Island Series:
Shipwreck (2001)
Survival (2001)
Escape (2001)
3-in-1 Island Trilogy Collection (2006)

Son of the Mob Series:
Son of the Mob 2: Hollywood Hustle (2004)

Everest Series:
The Contest (2002)
The Climb (2002)
The Summit (2002)
Everest Trilogy Box Set (2002)

Dive Series:
The Discovery (2003)
The Deep (2003)
The Danger (2003)

On the Run Series:
Now You See Them, Now You Don't (2005)
The Stowaway Solution (2005)
Public Enemies (2005)
Hunting the Hunter (2006)

Kidnapped Series:
The Search (2006)
The Rescue (2006)

Swindle Series:
Swindle (2008)
Zoobreak (2009)
Framed (2010)
Showoff (2012)
Hideout (2013)
Jackpot (2014)
Unleashed (2015)
Jingle (2016)

Titanic Series:
Unsinkable (2011)
Collision Course (2011)
S.O.S (2011)

The 39 Clues Series:
Vespers Rising (2011)
The Medusa Plot (2011)
Flashpoint (2014)

Hypnotists Series:
The Hypnotists (2013)
Memory Maze (2014)
The Dragonfly Effect (2015)

Ungifted Series:
Ungifted (2012)
Supergifted (2018)

Slacker Series:
Slacker (2016)
Level 13 (2019)

Non Series Books:
Son of Interflux (1986)
Radio 5th Grade (1989)
Losing Joe's Place (1990)
The Twinkie Squad (1992)
The Toilet Paper Tigers (1993)
Why Did the Underwear Cross the Road (1994)
The Chicken Doesn't Skate (1996)
No More Dead Dogs (2000)
Maxx Comedy: The Funniest Kid in America (2003)
Jake, Reinvented (2003)
Born To Rock (2006)
Schooled (2007)
Pop (2009)
Slacker (2016)
Restart (2017)
Notorious (2019)
War Stories (2020)
Game On (contains The Chicken Doesn’t Skate and The Toilet Paper Tigers (2021)
Unplugged (2021)
Linked (2021)
The Fort (2022)
Mixed Up (2023)
Slugfest (2024)
Faker (2024)

No comments: