Sunday 8 October 2023

Belt of Truth - Theresa Linden - Armor of God Series Book 1 Second Edition

Belt of Truth
Armor of God Book 1 Second Edition
Theresa Linden
Nihal Dungdung (Illustrator) 
Silver Fire Publishing
ISBN 99780997674781
eISBN 9781393067320

I read the first edition of this story back in 2019. I thought the book and series was excellent. The series is being rereleased in second editions with new covers and new artwork. The artwork is by Nihal Dungdung, it is not my favourite style but I am sure children will appreciate it.

I have read stories by Theresa Linden a total of 33 times. There are some amazing reads for young adults, and adults, and with this series now children as well. This was her first book for younger readers, and it is excellent. Theresa Linden is one of my favourite contemporary authors. If not my favourite. I have compared her writings to Madeleine L’Engle and Lois Lowry, and firmly stand by that comparison. And it is good clean fiction. Her Young Adult novels that have the strength and appeal that I believe any adult would enjoy reading them. They have strong Christian themes and usually have Catholic main characters. This was her first book for younger readers, and it is just as good. 

I was impressed by Linden as an author, but in the first edition she was both author and illustrator. This series is going to be based on the armor of God, 

“Therefore, put on the armor of God, that you may be able to resist on the evil day and, having done everything, to hold your ground. So, stand fast with your loins girded in truth, clothed with righteousness as a breastplate, and your feet shod in readiness for the gospel of peace. In all circumstances, hold faith as a shield, to quench all the flaming arrows of the evil one. And take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”
~ Ephesians 6:13-17

The chapters in the story are:
1. Tryouts 1
2. Tapestry 11
3. Through the Woods 21
4. A New Friend 29
5. The Teacher 37
6. The Virtue 47
7. George’s Friends 51
8. Sneaking 57
9. Tuition 65
10. Sharing a Secret 69
11. Where is Erik? 75
12. Just Tell 81
13. The Truth 87
14. Finding Erik 93
15. Belt of Truth

After the main story are these sections:

Armor of God Series
Code of Chivalry
About the Author
About the Illustrator

The description of this story is:

“Book 1 in the Armor of God children's chapter book series.

George Pennington wants to be a knight!

He bravely faces the fearsome head knight at the annual “tryouts,” hoping to be among the few accepted to Knight School for Boys and Girls. When he accidentally burns his mother’s cherished tapestry, is his chance at Knight School over? A lie seems like the best solution. As lying becomes easier for George, he discovers that students must earn the first piece of armor: The Belt of Truth.

Based on the Scriptural Armor of God (Ephesians 6:13-17), this fantasy adventure series appeals to the universal and timeless quest for virtue and inner strength. Story themes and “Brother Coll’s Catechism Lessons” are perfect for children preparing for or who have recently made their first sacraments.”

This is the story of George Pennington, a young man whose greatest desire is to become a knight. But in order to become a knight he must first win entrance into knights’ school and make his way through the 6 levels of training to become a squire. After that he can work towards becoming a knight. But I am getting ahead of the story a bit. The story begins with the annual tryout’s day. Both George and his younger brother Erik are testing to see if they can enter the school. George has tested a few times before, and he really has his heart set on this. George is desperate not to follow in his father’s footsteps and become a scribe.

George and Erik become friends with Robyn Haylan a new girl in the region. She wans George that some of his friends might not be the best to hang around and tries to steer him along the correct path. But George is a little head strong, and that gets him in trouble. Soon he finds himself lying. And the more lies he tells the worse things get, until that fateful day … But you will need to read the story to find out about that day, and what George does or doesn’t do to make things right.

This is a wonderful read. The young and young at heart alike will love the stories. The illustrations are fun. And The book leaves you desperate for the next in the series. An excellent first book in what looks like it will be another wonderful series from the masterful pen of Theresa Linden!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2023 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Theresa Linden:
Tortured Soul

Chasing Liberty Series:
01 Chasing Liberty
02 Testing Liberty
03 Fight For Liberty
Bound to find Freedom - Short Story


West brothers Series:
Roland West Loner
Life-Changing Love
Battle for His Soul

Standing Strong
Roland West Outcast
Fire Starters

Armor of God Series:
Belt of Truth
Breastplate of Righteousness
Boot of Peace
Shield of Faith
Helmet of Salvation
Sword of the Spirit

Armor of God Series Second Edition:

No comments: