Wednesday 18 May 2022

Sword of the Spirit - Theresa Linden - Armor of God Series Book 6

Sword of the Spirit
Armor of God Book 6
Theresa Linden
Silver Fire Publishing

ISBN 9781734992946
eISBN 9798201578725

My son and I greatly enjoyed this series. In fact, we are very sad that it has come to a conclusion. We are hoping that Linden will in some way continue these stories. I have now read books from Linden’s masterful pen 29 times, and her contributions to anthologies several times each. I can easily state that Theresa Linden is one of my favourite contemporary Catholic and Christian authors. Everything I have read from her has been impressive. I have reread several of her books myself, and reread others with one or more of my children. My children are all through their first communion, but even so we loved this book and this excellent series. I am a fan of all of Linden’s writings, but this series geared for a younger audience than most of  her other works is excellent and it is a great addition to the canon of her work. This is the final volume that was planned for series.

From the title of the series, it is obvious that it is based on the Armor of God:

“Therefore, put on the armor of God, that you may be able to resist on the evil day and, having done everything, to hold your ground. So, stand fast with your loins girded in truth, clothed with righteousness as a breastplate, and your feet shod in readiness for the gospel of peace. In all circumstances, hold faith as a shield, to quench all the flaming arrows of the evil one. And take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”
~ Ephesians 6:13-17

The description of this volume is:

“Thanks to George, a handful of other pages, and the squires from Knight School, everyone from nearby villages remains safe in the underground shelters—or do they?

George and friends bravely investigate a strange noise down a tunnel they've never explored before. They soon discover two knights have different plans for solving the dragon problem, and fear has caused some of the townsfolk to develop a plan of their own.

The dragon threat is even greater now, as George and Robyn soon discover with an up-close encounter. How can the pages keep a courageous, peaceful spirit amidst such chaos, all while working to earn the Sword of the Spirit?”

The chapters in the story are:

1 Scraping & Clanking
2 Too Close
3 Greenscale
4 Courage
5 Shook Up
6 Like A Sword
7 Weapons
8 Food For A Dragon
9 Sir Crewe’s Plan
10 No Time To Waste
11 Mud Puddle
12 Catching A Dragon
13 Sir Lucian’s Story
14 Truce
15 Sword Of The Spirit

At the beginning of the book is a note ‘Dear Reader’ And at the end a section about the author and about the series. All three are worth reading. Between many of the chapters are Brother Coll’s Catechism Lesson, there are 8 of these one of themas a sample is:

Brother Coll’s
Catechism Lesson

Have you ever lost your temper before?
Have you ever shouted at someone else or blamed them for something that went wrong?

God wants us to be kind to another, to talk peacefully when we disagree, and to forgive. 

Maybe this verse can help you in the future:
“Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, with all malice, and be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”
—Ephesians 4:31-32”

This is the conclusion of the story of George Pennington. He is a young lad who is attending knight’s school. To graduate they must obtain the 6 pieces of the armor of God. Six levels of training to become a squire. In the first volume, Belt of Truth, only some of the classmates do not get their belt. And it was very close for George. George learned the value of truth, even if you need to admit to lies, and mistakes you have made. Robyn Haylan and Erik, Georges younger brother continue to be good influences. In the second they must earn the Breastplate of Righteousness. In the third volume they must earn the Boots of Peace. And in this they strive for the Sword of the Spirit. 

Last time the action was heating up. This time George and his friends even have a close encounter with a dragon. They find out that not all they assumed about the dragons was true. And even what they thought about some of the Knights was misinformed. In this one George and his friends need to stop and listen to the Holy Spirit. And even disobey an order they have come to believe is wrong. In doing so they risk wrath. And even end up in a battle of wits quoting versus back and forth to support arguments being made.

Some want revenge, some seek peace, and others are not really sure what is the best path forward. But with faith and hope a way can be found.

To find out if George earns his sword you will need to read this excellent story. It is a fun read in a great series. It is fantastic for the youngsters in your life or for some of us that are young at heart. But I must admit I hope Linden finds a way to continue on with the story of George and his friends. For it would be fun to visit with them again and on other adventures.  

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2022 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Theresa Linden:
Tortured Soul

Chasing Liberty Series:
01 Chasing Liberty
02 Testing Liberty
03 Fight For Liberty
Bound to find Freedom - Short Story


West brothers Series:
Roland West Loner
Life-Changing Love
Battle for His Soul

Standing Strong
Roland West Outcast
Fire Starters

Armour of God Series:
Belt of Truth
Breastplate of Righteousness
Boot of Peace
Shield of Faith
Helmet of Salvation
Sword of the Spirit

Armor of God Series Second Edition:

Other Books:
A Symbol of Hope - Short Story
A Battle for the Faith (with John Paul Wohlscheid)


Books contributed to:
Image and Likeness: Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Secrets: Visible & Invisible 7 Amazing Stories - Catholic Teen Books
Gifts Visible & Invisible 8 Christmas Stories for Teens
Treasures: Visible & Invisible 8 Stories for Teens

No comments: