Friday 8 April 2022

Helmet of Salvation - Theresa Linden - Armor of God Series Book 5

Helmet of Salvation
Armor of God Book 5
Theresa Linden
Silver Fire Publishing

ISBN 9781734992939
eISBN 9798201982584

I have now read books from Linden’s masterful pen 28 times, and her contributions to anthologies several times each. To say that Theresa Linden is one of my favourite contemporary Catholic and Christian authors, would be a bit of an understatement. Everything I have read from her has been impressive. I have reread several of her books myself, and reread others with one or more of my children. My children are all through their first communion, but even so we love this book and series. I am a fan of all of Linden’s writings, but this series geared for a younger audience than her other works is excellent and it is a great addition to the canon of her work. This is the penultimate volume in the series.

From the title of the series, it is obvious that it is based on the Armor of God:

“Therefore, put on the armor of God, that you may be able to resist on the evil day and, having done everything, to hold your ground. So, stand fast with your loins girded in truth, clothed with righteousness as a breastplate, and your feet shod in readiness for the gospel of peace. In all circumstances, hold faith as a shield, to quench all the flaming arrows of the evil one. And take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”
~ Ephesians 6:13-17

The description of this volume is:

“With the threat of dragons on everyone's mind, George wants to help the knights at the outposts, while his friend Henry wants to collect dragon scales, even at the risk of being tossed out of Knight School. The same day Sir Lucian shares a mysterious object—hidden under a cape in the front of the classroom—dragons are spotted over Knight School for Boys and Girls. Needing reliable helpers, the knights give George a special task. Then George sees Henry sneaking off, and he wants to stop him, but the knights are counting on him. Pulled in so many directions, what's a page to do? George barely has time to think about earning the next piece of armor: the Helmet of Salvation.”

The chapters in the story are:

1 To Protect & Defend
2 History Of Dragons
3 Dragon Scales
4 To The Outpost
5 Enemy Within
6 Dragon Sightings
7 Dancing Chicken Inn
8 How To Know
9 To The Shelter
10 He Had To Try
11 Making The Challenge
12 Caught
13 Wrestling With Choices
14 Waiting For Me
15 Helmet Of Salvation

At the beginning of the book is a note ‘Dear Reader’ And at the end a section about the author and about the series. All three are worth reading. Between many of the chapters are Brother Coll’s Catechism Lesson, there are 8 of these lessons in this volume and the story ends with one of them, which is:

Brother Coll’s
Catechism Lesson

Here is a lovely prayer to say whenever
you stop by church to visit Jesus:

My God, I believe, I adore,
I hope, and I love Thee.
I beg Thee forgiveness for those
who do not believe, do not adore,
do not hope, and do not love Thee.

— prayer taught by an angel at Fatima”

This is the continuing story of George Pennington. He is a young lad who is attending knight’s school. To graduate they must obtain the 6 pieces of the armor of God. Six levels of training to become a squire. In the first volume, Belt of Truth, only some of the classmates do not get their belt. And it was very close for George. George learned the value of truth, even if you need to admit to lies, and mistakes you have made. Robyn Haylan and Erik, Georges younger brother continue to be good influences. In the second they must earn the Breastplate of Righteousness. In the third volume they must earn the Boots of Peace. And in this they strive for the Helmet of Salvation 

In this story the action is heating up. The rumours of the dragons have been confirmed. And the Knights, squires, and pages are preparing to help the villagers, their friends and families. But In this volume George must content with his own curiosity and desire to be in on the action. He also struggles with not only doing the right and the good himself but in helping his friend make good choices. In this volume we even encounter conflict between the knights and a challenge for leadership of the knights and the knight school. Some people seem to be wanting to profit on this conflict and hazardous situation. Including someone putting out a bounty on dragon scales. George must make good and wise decisions not only for his own benefit but to possible be of help many others.

To find out if George earns his helmet you will need to read this excellent story. It is a great read in a wonderful series. Fantastic for the youngsters in your life or for some of us that are young at heart. But I must admit with only one volume remaining in the series, I hope Linden finds a way to continue on with the story of George and his friends.  

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2022 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Theresa Linden:
Tortured Soul

Chasing Liberty Series:
01 Chasing Liberty
02 Testing Liberty
03 Fight For Liberty
Bound to find Freedom - Short Story


West brothers Series:
Roland West Loner
Life-Changing Love
Battle for His Soul

Standing Strong
Roland West Outcast
Fire Starters

Armour of God Series:
Belt of Truth
Breastplate of Righteousness
Boot of Peace
Shield of Faith
Helmet of Salvation
Sword of the Spirit

Armor of God Series Second Edition:

Other Books:
A Symbol of Hope - Short Story
A Battle for the Faith (with John Paul Wohlscheid)


Books contributed to:
Image and Likeness: Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Secrets: Visible & Invisible 7 Amazing Stories - Catholic Teen Books
Gifts Visible & Invisible 8 Christmas Stories for Teens
Treasures: Visible & Invisible 8 Stories for Teens

No comments: