-->

Thursday, 24 June 2021

The Most Expensive Alley Cat In London - Corinna Turner - An Elfling Story

The Most Expensive Alley Cat In London
An Elfling Story
Corinna Turner
Unseen Books
eISBN 9781910806722
ASIN B089GZFMD1


I really love the works of Turner. And consider her to be an excellent writer. But I just did not like the original cover of Elfling, and never got around to reading it, even though I had picked it up shortly after it was available. And even after it underwent a cover revision, I just never got around to read it. I have had this story on my device for a while now, as well. These were the only published works from Turner I had not read and I was looking for a shorter read while waiting one day. This story was that read, and I devoured it and Elfling in under 24 hours. I could just not stop. And though she has many other series on the go, including one that has a second story that is ‘coming soon’ since 2016. I really hope she expands upon this world as well. That there will be more stories about Serapia Ravena and her pet Raven. But back to this specific story.

As mentioned once I started reading this story I could not stop. I had other things to do, and some things that needed to get done, but reading took precedence. The story is so well crafter. Amazing characters, a great story, and wonderful world building. The description of this volume is:

“Desperate Urchin. A Mysterious Stray. Salvation…Or Death?

Young Serapia Ravena is living rough on the streets of old London, along with her dragon-like pet, Raven. Starving and desperate after a near-fatal illness, Serapia is delighted to find the meal she so desperately needs to survive—even if it’s just a skinny white alley cat. But nothing about this cat is as she expects. It may provide a very different means of deliverance—or doom.

If you love tales of good and evil, compassion and survival, secret agents and dragonets, you’ll love this heart-warming short story in the tradition of J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis. ‘The Most Expensive Alley Cat in London’ is a standalone short story related to the novel ‘Elfling,’ Winner of the 2019 ‘Teen’ CPA Book Award.”

And after reading it I can easily understand why it was the CPA Award. It is a masterfully told story. Set in a world unlike any other that Turner has created to date. Serapia’s world is a wonderful place. But for her it was also a very dangerous place. Living on the street, doing what she must to survive. So when she encounters a near dead cat, with 5 wounds from 5 days. She turns to an agent of the Queen, for a reward, and what it takes to live a few more days. .

A fascinating read and one that if you have not read the novel will leave you desperate to continue the story. Very well written. Excellent characters. A fantastic read. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2021 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Corinna Turner:
I Am Margaret Series:
0.0 The Underappreciated Virtues of Rusty Old Bicycles (A prequel)

0.5 Brothers (Prequel)
1.0 I Am Margaret
1.5 How Snakey Got His Name (Short Story)
2.0 The Three Most Wanted
3.0 Liberation
4.0 Bane's Eyes

5.0 Margo's (Attempted) Diary & Notebook
5.5 An Unexpected Guest
6.0 The Siege of Reginald Hill
6.5 Buttons (Short Story)
7.0 A Saint in the Family
I Am Margaret The Play - Fiorella de Maria
...

Yesterday and Tomorrow Series:
Someday

Tomorrow's Dead
...

unSPARKed Series:
Prequel Short Stories:
Liam and the Hunters of Lee'Vi
0.1 Breach
0.2 A Mom with Blue Feathers

Mandy Lamb Series:
Mandy Lamb and the Full Moon


Contributed to:
Secrets: Visible & Invisible 7 Amazing Stories - Catholic Teen Books
Gifts Visible & Invisible 8 Christmas Stories for Teens
Treasures: Visible & Invisible 8 Stories for Teens

No comments: