Friday 4 June 2021

The Tartessian Crown - Manuel Alfonseca - Chronicles of the Aeolian Family Book 03

The Tartessian Crown
Chronicles of the Aeolian Family Book 03
Manuel Alfonseca
ISBN 9798655656260

This was the third book by Alfonseca that I have read in as many weeks. All three were from the series Chronicles of the Aeolian Family. A few years ago I read several books in translation by Manuel Alfonseca. Most I believe translated by the author himself. This is the 11th volume from his pen that I have read. I believe this book was originally published in Spanish in 2012. There have been a few Spanish editions over the years, and it was published in English in 2020. The publishing of the original Spanish spanned a decade. The whole trilogy was published in English at that time. When I finished the first book, The Seal of Aeolus, I immediately picked up the remaining volumes in the series. It was only my commitment to alternate fiction and non-fiction prevented me from starting on this book immediately. 

I picked up book one to read because it was the Catholic Book Club on Good Reads book for the month. Once I started reading it I could hardly put it down. The same can be said for following two installments. In fact the action was more intense and the story more compelling in this third volume. I have been impressed by everything I have read from Alfonseca’s pen. Several times while reading this series I thought of Sword and Serpent by Taylor R. Marshall and also the historical fiction from Jack Whyte. I believe this book this series is just as good as the writings from those two authors. 

This book, as well as the other two in the series, are well written and well researched. I implore you when you read the book stick it through and read the Authors Note at the end of the text. It is so worth the read, on the research and background. The planning that went into this series that spans generations. The description of the volume is:

“Julius Aeolius is a fourteen-year-old boy who lives with his grandfather Lucius in Cesaraugusta, present-day Zaragoza, in the days of the Visigoth king Theodoric. They start a long journey, for Lucius is obsessed with finding the Tartessian crown. According to legend, whoever owns the crown will be king of all Hispania. But who is the mysterious goth who insists on going with them? What is Lucius hiding, who seems to know more than he says? Will Julius win the love of Dido, the orphan girl who barely speaks, but who knows how to get them out of all their troubles? In this journey through the most important cities and islands of the Mediterranean (Tarraco, Carthage, Malta, Rome...), the protagonist will face not just many adventures, but also an internal journey towards his own maturity.”

A story sent in ancient Roman times. Years after the second volume. And towards the decline and fall of the Roman Empire. In this one we follow a young man, his grandfather as they search for a crown of legend that will Restore the Kingdom. The story travels around the Mediterranean and back again. Through various kingdoms. Are captured and ransomed as slaves. All on a quest. And a quest Julius is not even certain he believes in. A great adventure wrapped in historical fiction. 

Manual Alfonseca is the author of over 50 books, 24 of which I believe are available in English. He writes across genres and styles with great ease. His books are always entertaining. In this story and many of his others a great strength is the characters. His characters are masterfully written. He draw readers in and keep them hooked. The historical setting is perfect. A story packed with action and mystery. 

This is another great historical fiction novel from Alfonseca’s pen. It does an great job continuing the story of a family and their faith, and possibly their future. It was a great read that I highly recommend! It is a great story and series.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2021 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Manuel Alfonseca in English:
Jacob's Ladder
The Ruby of the Ganges
The Last Dinosaur
Ennia in Faerie
The Heirloom of King Scorpion
Beyond the Black Hole
The Water of Life

The Sleuths of the Spanish Transition Series:
Quetzalcoatl's Zahir

The Mystery of the Haunted House
The Mystery of the Sapphire Bracelet
The Mystery of the Honeymoon
The Mystery of the Egyptian Vulture Country House

Chronicles of the Magic Jigsaw Puzzle Series:
The Journey of Tivo the Dauntless
The Mystery of the Black Lake
The Silver Swan
The Secret of the Ice Field
The Lost Continent

The Chronicles of the Aeolian Family Series:

Human Cultures & Evolution
World Population: Past, Present, & Future
The Fifth Level of Evolution

No comments: