Monday 18 December 2023

What's Done is Done - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed Book 10

What's Done is Done
unSPARKed Book 10
Unseen Books
ISBN 9781910806241
eISBN 9781910806258

What's Done is Done - Corinna Turner - unSPARKed Book 10

This series gets better and better, this is an excellent short story. This is a masterfully crafted piece! As soon as I finished it I out it back on my to be read pile to read it again. Again this one hints at the long teased prequel A Mom With Blue Feathers. This story was AWEsome it is a great read in an FANtastic series. I have read stories in this series over 38 times now. And my son has read all of them more than once as well. We have been ordering them for my nephew his cousin, as he finished each we order him the next. We have also given a complete set to the school library that is how much we love these stories! And how highly we regard these stories and Turner’s writings.

I first read a story by Turner in 2015, and read the first in this series in 2017. Since then, I have read book by her a total of 71 times, and unSPARKed stories 38 of them. I have also read a number of the unSPARKed stores in Anthologies. This story is the tenth novel in the series and is available as an eBook and  in print format. This book and series are excellent for teens, young adults and adults. The series keeps getting better and better! It has real staying power. 

When I am recommending this series, which happens often, I frequently describe it as a mashup of Mad Max, Lost World, and Jurassic Park, and I have recommended it to many, all who have enjoyed them. In many ways it is like 50 years after Jurassic World Dominion. We have even bought a full set for my son’s school library and know from the Librarian that they are very popular.

unSPARKed is a series set in a not-too-distant future. Dinosaurs once again roam the earth. Just because a scientist could do something, did not mean they should have done it. Most people live SPARKed, in cities with walls and electrified fences. There are two groups of people who live unSPARKed, farmers who have electric fences around their farms and live in community with their close neighbours. The other are Hunters who live most of the time out on the road or off road in HabVI’s Habitat Vehicles. 

The description of this volume is:


In prison, Joshua finally found out who kidnapped Darryl and Harry’s dad almost two years ago. After all this time, there's no real hope that he's alive, but now that Josh is free they have one last chance to find out who actually killed William Franklyn—and why.

But confronting a murderer might be the least of their worries. The wildlife is as wild as ever, and worse, if the city-folk see them together, they’ll have to run—or face the consequences. Just what will it cost them to find out the truth?

And if they do, what happens next?”

This story is told in a series of first person narratives. The narrators are:

Darryl - 10 
Joshua - 10
Harry - 10

I was a little surprised there was not at least a chapter from Father Benedict’s point of view. The three of them are finally reunited. Joshua is out of prison, Darryl is working at the Zoo, and Harry snuck away from his foster parents. Josh shares the news he heard at the end of the last volume. Father Ben shares the research he has been able to gleam. And together they decide on a last ditch effort to try and find out what really happened to Darryl’s and Harry’s dad, even if it means they have to become fugitives in this state. But the need to know is too great. But sometimes when you go looking for the truth you end up with more than you bargained for. And some revelations change everything you have believed for years. 

The next story in the series is Weigh The Odds and I can freely admit we are both desperate for Corinna to write and release it. This story takes place over a very short time frame but it is packed full of information tying together many of the subplots in the series to date. Some I expected, some with a different twist. We can only hope the next volume Weigh The Odds and the long-awaited prequel A Mom With Blue Fathers drop sooner rather than later. This story ends with in a surprising way, and leaves you desperate for more. I believe Turner has 2 or 3 more novels planned for the main series and at least the one promised prequel story. 

This is another great read in a MASTERfully written series. It is an excellent read by a gifted and talented author, and one of our favourite contemporary YA and Catholic authors at that! A volume we can easily recommend for fans of the series, fans of science fiction or really anyone who just loves a very well crafted story.      

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2023 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Corinna Turner:
I Am Margaret Series:
0.0 The Underappreciated Virtues of Rusty Old Bicycles (A prequel)

0.5 Brothers (Prequel)
1.0 I Am Margaret
1.5 How Snakey Got His Name (Short Story)
2.0 The Three Most Wanted
3.0 Liberation
4.0 Bane's Eyes

5.0 Margo's (Attempted) Diary & Notebook
5.5 An Unexpected Guest
6.0 The Siege of Reginald Hill
6.5 Buttons (Short Story)
7.0 A Saint in the Family
I Am Margaret The Play - Fiorella de Maria

Yesterday and Tomorrow Series:

Tomorrow's Dead

unSPARKed Series:

Mandy Lamb Series:
Mandy Lamb and the Full Moon

Contributed to:
Secrets: Visible & Invisible 7 Amazing Stories - Catholic Teen Books
Gifts Visible & Invisible 8 Christmas Stories for Teens
Treasures: Visible & Invisible 8 Stories for Teens

No comments: