Thursday 14 March 2019

Dragon Assassin 3 Dark Wings - Arthur Slade - Dragon Assassin Book 3

Dragon Assassin 3: Dark Wings
Arthur Slade
Dava Enterprises

This book is part of a series that is being released one section at a time over a year. In some ways it is like being a kid in the 70’s or 80’s and waiting for the next episode of a show. And it harkens back to the day when almost all fiction and especially science fiction and fantasty were published serially. My first thought upon finishing this third instalment was ‘This series just keeps getting better and better!’ And I stand by that opinion. I freely admit that I have been a fan of Arthur Slades’s writing since reading both Dust and Tribes in 2002. I eagerly await each new release from his masterful pen.  And this series and this episode in it are excellent offerings. And as we wait to tune in next month to the same Dragon Chanel for the next instalment, here is my review of Book 3 Dark Wings.  

Each volume in this book has a lot on the go, and this time is no different. I admit I was completely surprised by some of the action and a major plot twist in this specific volume. In this third episode we have:

An emperor with tricks up his sleeve
A brother with powerful new armour
A sister and her friends still set on revenge
A dragon locked into a promise to an assassin
Said, Dragon being owed a year of service once Carmen’s vow is completed
And just a few battles between assassins, those who betrayed the assassin guild, And the emperor’s very powerful guards

With each volume in the series to date the plot has thickened. With each puzzle piece we put together we realize the puzzle was much bigger than we thought, and we are missing the picture to help us put it together.

Book One Twin Fury focused around:

Assassin School
A Dragon
A deal with said dragon
And more

Book Two Shadow Hunter:

A reunion with a friend
An adversary turned friend
Aide from a former mentor and teacher
Another betrayal
A dragon to the rescue
The promise of three hands and a claw

And this one we have the twists in the plot. I really did not see the major events in this volume coming. Some of them I would have expected much later in the series. As such I really have no idea when things will go in the next volume.

Another excellent read! A great book in a wonderful series. If you have not given these books a try, I strongly encourage you to. You will not be disappointed. 

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies
Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 

No comments: