Monday 18 March 2019

Margaret Clitherow - Jean Olwen Maynard - CTS Saints of the Isles Series

Margaret Clitherow
CTS Saints of the Isles Series
Jean Olwen Maynard
Catholic Truth Society

ISBN 9781860822186
eISBN 9781784693602
CTS Booklet B676

In the last year I have read over 60 books and booklets from the Catholic Truth Society. There are so many great books, and many excellent series. It has been fascinating reading about the Saints and Martyrs of the British Isles. And I can honestly say that I am not even sure I had come across the name of Margaret Clitherow before starting this volume. This book was a fascinating read. I could honestly not put this book down. 

In this day and age, it is interesting reading about a time when Catholicism was persecuted in the UK. Reading about priest holes, Secret masses, hidden mass centers. Priests being smuggled into the country and around the country and city. The saints of these times can be examples to us, and we can pray we are never in that situation again. And Margaret Clitherow is an incredible example for us.

The chapters in this book are:
Henry May
Shop manageress
Unwillingly Protestant
Margaret’s conversion
Arrests and imprisonments
York Castle
The secret room
Priest martyrs
The hanging of Marmaduke Bowes
Margaret’s house is raided
“Margaret Clitherow, how say you?”
“I believe in God”
No witnesses but children
“I thank God heartily for this”
“The best wife in all England”
Margaret’s last night
“I die for the love of my Lord Jesu”

Through this little book we follow a woman as her faith deepens and deepens. We watch as she takes risks to spread the gospel. And as she is willing to make the ultimate sacrifice. A sacrifice to protect her children, her family, her friends. And in the way she went to her trials and death her joy in all the trials can serve as an example to all of us. Her statement on her way to her death was:

“No, no, Master Sheriff, I die for the love of my Lord Jesu.”

This book was a total surprise. And is so worth the time to read. Another excellent read from the Catholic Truth Society.

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2019 Catholic Reading Plan! For other reviews of books from the Catholic Truth Society click here.

Published work by Jean Olwen Maynard:
Privately published by religious orders/parishes:
Greyfriars Convent, Elgin (2006)
A History of St Mary and St Michael’s Parish, Commercial Road, East London (2007)
Sisters of Mercy Bristol (2008)
150 Years of Mercy: A History of the Sisters of Mercy Commercial Road East London (2009)
The Saint of Hoxton (2011)
Saint Monica’s Church Hoxton Square (2018) 
150th anniversary history brochure for Parish of Guardian Angels, Mile End (2018)
150th anniversary history brochure for Parish of Our Lady and St Catherine of Sienna, Bow (2020) 
Immaculate Heart of Mary and St Dominic, Homerton 1873-2023 – 150 Years: A History of the Parish (2023)

CTS Booklets:
Isidore Bakanja 
Joseph Vaz

Between Christendom and Islam, The Martyr Mystic Christian de Chergé and the Atlas Cistercians in Algeria, in: Catholic in Religious Dialogue: Monasticism, Theology and Spirituality, ed Anthony O’Mahoney and Peter Bowe OSB, Gracewing, 2006
Campaign for the Catholic Workhouse Children, in: British Catholic History, Vol 31: Issue 4 Oct 2015

Saints of the Isles Series:
Edmund Arrowsmith - John S. Hogan 
Margaret Clitherow - Jean Olwen Maynard
Edmund Campion - Alexander Haydon
John Southworth Priest and Martyr - Michael Archer
Saint Thomas More - Alvaro de Silva
John Ogilvie - Eleanor McDowell
Frances Taylor - Eithne Leonard
Mary Potter - Elizabeth Gilroy
John Fisher - Richard L. Smith
Robert Southwell - Fiorella Sultana De Maria
Ignatius Spencer - Fr. Ben Lodge
Sr Elizabeth Prout - Dominic Savio Hamer 
Forty Martyrs of England and Wales - James Walsh
Thomas Becket - J.B. Midgley

No comments: