Wednesday 16 December 2020

Full Metal Jack - Diane Capri - Hunt For Reacher Book 10

Full Metal Jack
Hunt For Reacher Book 10
Diane Capri
August Books
eISBN 9781942633440

Last year I read 42 stories featuring Jack Reacher. And this year I have read three newly released ones, including this one. First I read the 29 Jack Reacher Novels and short stories by Lee Child. And then I read all the books in this series. This is the tenth novel in the Hunt for Reacher Series, and the thirteenth story featuring Otto and Gaspar. The source book for this volume was Lee Child’s The Affair. That one was the story where Reacher’s last case in the military took place, and it started with a dead woman’s body near a base. In this another body is found killed in a similar fashion 15 years later. 

The cast of characters in this story is:

Kim Otto 
Charles Cooper 
Lincoln Perry 
Eugene Hammer 
Elizabeth Deveraux 
Scott Greyson 
Alec Murphy 
Nina Cloud 
Carlos Gaspar


Jack Reacher

I did not really enjoy The Affair it was the only Jack Reacher story that I have 3/5 stars. The rest got 4 or 5. What I did not like was that there was so much sex. It was more of a romance novel. That was not the case this time. I much preferred this book to the source story. It is still taking some getting use to, to have Gaspar working a high-end job but helping out Otto remotely. For the first time Otto encounters someone she assumes is a Reacher ex who is more than happy to talk about the man and his methods. But there is a dead girl. And soon bodies start piling up. And if it was not for luck, Otto would not realize it was all linked. But there are a lot of moving pieces in this story. And unlike many of the Hunt for Reacher stories we do not really encounter him directly. 

This story is much better than the source book. It is a great read in a really fun series. And With the information we garner at the end, I wonder what will happen in Jack Frost, the next volume due out in this series.  

Books by Diane Capri:
Hunt for Reacher Series:

1.0 Don’t Know Jack
1.1 Jack in a Box
1.2 Jack and Kill
2.0 Get Back Jack
2.5 Jack in the Green
3.0 Jack and Joe
4.0 Deep Cover Jack
5.0 Jack the Reaper
6.0 Black Jack
7.0 Ten Two Jack
8.0 Jack of Spades
9.0 Prepper Jack
10.0 Full Metal Jack
19.0 Tracking Jack

Justice Series:
1.0 Due Justice
2.0 Twisted Justice
3.0 Secret Justice
4.0 Wasted Justice
5.0 Raw Justice
5.5 Mistaken Justice
6.0 Cold Justice
6.1 False Justice
6.2 Fair Justice
6.3 True Justice
7.0 Hunt for Justice
8.0 Night Justice

Jess Kimball Series:
0.5 Fatal Enemy
1.0 Fatal Distraction
2.0 Fatal Demand
3.0 Fatal Error
4.0 Fatal Fall
4.5 Fatal Edge
5.0 Fatal Game
6.0 Fatal Bond
6.5 Fatal Past
7.0 Fatal Dawn

Heir Hunter Series:
1.0 Blood Trials
2.0 Trace Evidence

Jordan Fox Mysteries:
False Truth Part One
False Truth Part Two
False Truth Part Three
False Truth Part Four
False Truth Part Five
False Truth Part Six
False Truth Part Seven
False Truth Part Eight
False Truth Part Nine
False Truth Part Ten
False Truth Part Eleven

The Park Hotel Mysteries Series:
1.0 Reservation with Death
2.0 Early Check Out
3.0 Room with a Clue
4.0 Late Arrival

Other Books:
Angel of Music

No comments: