Saturday 17 June 2023

Bulletproof Jack - Diane Capri - Hunt For Reacher Book 19

Bulletproof Jack
Hunt For Reacher Book 16 (19)
Diane Capri
August Books
eISBN 9781942633808

This book is another good read in the Hunt for Jack Reacher Series. Over the last few years I have read all of the Jack Reacher stories and all of the Hunt for Jack Reacher stories as well. This will be the 53th. It is a good read. And the next in this series have already been announced. This is the twelfth I have read since that initial binge read. First I read the 29 Jack Reacher Novels and short stories by Lee Child, and now Lee and Andrew Child. And then I read all the books in this series. This is the sixteenth novel in the Hunt for Reacher Series, and the nineteenth story featuring Otto. Otto still does not have a replacement partner on this assignment. But she does have support from Finlay and one of his top operatives, Travis Russell
And he has access to all of Finlay’s resources. She still has Gaspar in the wings helping out as much as he can. He may not trust Finlay or Russell but is helping them this time. The source book for this volume was Lee Child’s Make Me. The description of this volume is:

"Go ahead. Shoot the messenger. See what happens.

Reacher sent a messenger. They stopped him with two bullets.

An unidentified man breaches all security and is executed by a skilled assassin on FBI Special Agent Kim Otto‘s doorstep. In his pockets she finds an advanced encrypted cell phone. Nothing else.

Kim arranges to extract the body and removes it to a private morgue for secret autopsy. None of the man’s biometrics match the databases. His identity remains concealed.

With nothing else to go on, questions multiply. Kim absolutely needs to know.

Who was this guy? Why was he trying to reach her? Who killed to stop him? What will they do next?

As the bodies pile up, Kim’s search leads her to Jack Reacher’s former lover in Lee Child’s Make Me. Michelle Chang knows Reacher well enough to be reliable, but Chang’s explanations are cryptic. When Kim presses harder for intel, Chang bolts.

The deadly investigation leads Kim from Detroit to Canada’s treacherous Niagara Falls region where expert killers and powerful government agents are not bulletproof—but Jack Reacher is.”

The cast of characters in this story is:

Carlos Gaspar
Charles Cooper
Lamont Finlay
Travis Russell
Derrick Braxton
Nigel Morin
Lucas Stuart
Liam Stuart 
Ace Fox
Ashley Westwood
Michelle Chang
Audrey Ruston 
Ira Krause
Jack Reacher

The quote from Make Me that start this story off is:

““We can’t fight thirty people,” Chang said.
Reacher said nothing. 
We can’t fight thirty people. 
To which Reacher’s natural response was: Why the hell not? 
It was in his DNA. 
Like breathing. 
He was an instinctive brawler. 
His greatest strength, and his greatest weakness.”

Hearing a thump and finding a dead man on her doorstep was not how Otto planned for the rest of her evening to go. She has a few options for how to deal with this and instead of calling cooper, reaches out to Finlay. Soon she is on the move and back and forth across the border to Niagara Falls Canada couple of times. And the body count just keeps growing and almost all of them have id with an acronym. Who can she trust and what is Reacher up to this time.

Currently the Child brothers are releasing about 1 Reacher novel a year, and Capri is publishing 2. This one released about half way through the gap between Reacher novels. So it helps to help fans tied over. This story is a little slower than some others and has a lower body count. It is another good story in an excellent series. These books always leave you desperate for the next instalment in the series. Capri has again done a wonderful job in leading us on the hunt for Jack Reacher. And with each offering we get to know both Otto and Reacher better.

Books by Diane Capri:
Hunt for Reacher Series:

1.0 Don’t Know Jack
1.1 Jack in a Box
1.2 Jack and Kill
2.0 Get Back Jack
2.5 Jack in the Green
3.0 Jack and Joe
4.0 Deep Cover Jack
5.0 Jack the Reaper
6.0 Black Jack
7.0 Ten Two Jack
8.0 Jack of Spades
9.0 Prepper Jack
10.0 Full Metal Jack
19.0 Tracking Jack

Justice Series:
1.0 Due Justice
2.0 Twisted Justice
3.0 Secret Justice
4.0 Wasted Justice
5.0 Raw Justice
5.5 Mistaken Justice
6.0 Cold Justice
6.1 False Justice
6.2 Fair Justice
6.3 True Justice
7.0 Hunt for Justice
8.0 Night Justice

Jess Kimball Series:
0.5 Fatal Enemy
1.0 Fatal Distraction
2.0 Fatal Demand
3.0 Fatal Error
4.0 Fatal Fall
4.5 Fatal Edge
5.0 Fatal Game
6.0 Fatal Bond
6.5 Fatal Past
7.0 Fatal Dawn

Heir Hunter Series:
1.0 Blood Trials
2.0 Trace Evidence

Jordan Fox Mysteries:
False Truth Part One
False Truth Part Two
False Truth Part Three
False Truth Part Four
False Truth Part Five
False Truth Part Six
False Truth Part Seven
False Truth Part Eight
False Truth Part Nine
False Truth Part Ten
False Truth Part Eleven

The Park Hotel Mysteries Series:
1.0 Reservation with Death
2.0 Early Check Out
3.0 Room with a Clue
4.0 Late Arrival

Other Books:
Angel of Music

No comments: