Wednesday 24 April 2024

Jack On A Wire - Diane Capri - Hunt For Reacher Book 21

Jack On A Wire
Hunt For Reacher Book 18 (21)
Diane Capri
August Books
eISBN 9781942633983

Jack On A Wire - Diane Capri - Hunt For Reacher Book 21

This book is another great read in the Hunt for Jack Reacher Series. OA few years ago I have read all of the Jack Reacher stories and all of the Hunt for Jack Reacher stories as well that were available at the time. Since then I have been reading them as they release. The Child brothers are releasing 1 book a year and Capri is releasing two. I am also now reading one of the other approved spin off series, the Reacher Experiment. This will be the 56th Reacher story I have read. It is a good read. But it feels like more of stretch than some of the others. The next in this series have already been announced. 

First, I read the 29 Jack Reacher Novels and short stories by Lee Child, and now Lee and Andrew Child. And then I read all the books in this series. This is the eighteenth novel in the Hunt for Reacher Series, and the twenty-first story featuring Otto. Otto still does not have a replacement partner at the beginning of this assignment. The story starts with her chasing down an old lead in Key West, but soon finds some clues and sources that might have a lot more information, but will it be worth the risk. 

Otto has Gaspar in the wings helping out as much as he can. He does not trust Finlay or Cooper but is helping Otto. The source book for this volume was Lee Child’s Tripwire. The description of this volume is:

“FBI Special Agent Kim Otto finally caught a break in the Hunt for Jack Reacher.
When she discovers a fresh lead in Reacher's old banking records, she's propelled to the sun-bleached streets of Key West.

In the midst of the island's laid-back culture, Kim discovers she's not the sole hunter in this high-stakes game.

From the gritty pages of Lee Child's Tripwire, a determined woman and a seasoned private investigator have also picked up Reacher's scent.

And they're not simply tracking Reacher. They're lying in wait.

Because they have insider information that Kim does not.

They know Jack Reacher.”

The cast of characters in this story is:

Carlos Gaspar
Charles Cooper
Reggie Smithers
Lamont Finlay
William Curry
Marilyn Stone
Nora Ramsey
Iniko Makindeand
Jack Reacher

Otto is her normal self in this one, in the last few stories she seems a less stressed and frazzled. This story surprised me on a few occasions. It is a great story with an interesting plot, excellent characters. This story is slower than some others and has a significantly lower body count, but that is because of what is happening. Otto is trying to figure out what links a bunch of seemingly random killings. There is a scientist trying to save her company, and rehabilitate her father’s reputation. There are a number of different story arc’s that are winding around each other until they start to collide. 

It is another great story in an excellent series. These books always leave you desperate for the next instalment in the series. Capri has again done a wonderful job in leading us on the hunt for Jack Reacher. And with each offering we get to know Otto better. This story was very well done. I can easily recommend this book and series.

Note: there are two numbering systems for this series. Good Reads numbers the novels continuously with the shorter stories earlier in the series being x.5. Diane Just numbers them 1-??. So this book is number 21 for total stories and number 18 for novels.

Books by Diane Capri:
Hunt for Reacher Series:

1.0 Don’t Know Jack
1.1 Jack in a Box
1.2 Jack and Kill
2.0 Get Back Jack
2.5 Jack in the Green
3.0 Jack and Joe
4.0 Deep Cover Jack
5.0 Jack the Reaper
6.0 Black Jack
7.0 Ten Two Jack
8.0 Jack of Spades
9.0 Prepper Jack
10.0 Full Metal Jack
19.0 Tracking Jack

Justice Series:
1.0 Due Justice
2.0 Twisted Justice
3.0 Secret Justice
4.0 Wasted Justice
5.0 Raw Justice
5.5 Mistaken Justice
6.0 Cold Justice
6.1 False Justice
6.2 Fair Justice
6.3 True Justice
7.0 Hunt for Justice
8.0 Night Justice

Jess Kimball Series:
0.5 Fatal Enemy
1.0 Fatal Distraction
2.0 Fatal Demand
3.0 Fatal Error
4.0 Fatal Fall
4.5 Fatal Edge
5.0 Fatal Game
6.0 Fatal Bond
6.5 Fatal Past
7.0 Fatal Dawn

Heir Hunter Series:
1.0 Blood Trials
2.0 Trace Evidence

Jordan Fox Mysteries:
False Truth Part One
False Truth Part Two
False Truth Part Three
False Truth Part Four
False Truth Part Five
False Truth Part Six
False Truth Part Seven
False Truth Part Eight
False Truth Part Nine
False Truth Part Ten
False Truth Part Eleven

The Park Hotel Mysteries Series:
1.0 Reservation with Death
2.0 Early Check Out
3.0 Room with a Clue
4.0 Late Arrival

Other Books:
Angel of Music

Jack On A Wire - Diane Capri - Hunt For Reacher Book 21

No comments: