-->

Tuesday, 22 May 2018

Fight for Liberty - Theresa Linden - Chasing Liberty Book 3

Fight for Liberty
Chasing Liberty Book 3
Theresa Linden

Silver Fire Publishing
ISBN 9780996816885
eISBN 9781311608383
ASIN B01H9EC6IS


I discovered the writings of Theresa Linden about a year ago. In that time I have read 10 novels, or published short stories and 2 anthologies that she has contributed to. Each and every piece I have read by her is excellent. All of her novels I have read have garnered a 5/5 stars. In an earlier review I compared Linden's writings to those of Madeleine L'Engle and Lois Lowry. I stated: "If we were to do a direct comparison between L'Engle and Linden then the Chasing Liberty Series would be the Kairos series and the West Brothers would be the Chronos series. And in many ways Liberty reminds me of Meg Murry in many ways, but in a much more dystopian future. And if we were to compare Chasing Liberty to Lois Lowry's writings it is much like The Giver, except with a clear-cut Christian under pinning. And from what I have read both series are wonderfully written." And after reading this third novel in this trilogy I would insist that even more so. This is an excellent conclusion to the trilogy, and an incredible read. 

This book is dystopian with out being depressing. It deals with many questions around freedom, want it means to really be free. It should also serve as a startling wake up call for us today. I loved the discover of history in this book, both by Liberty, but also by Dr. Supero, once one of the regimen's most favored sons, he has fallen far, but in that fall has also started asking some questions. He started research to prove that the regime was good for people, and the population controls made sense. But his eyes are opened as he gains access to locked files and secret agenda's. 

One of the greatest strengths of Linden's writing is the characters. The characters in this book, this series are amazing. From Liberty a young woman who is learning what true freedom is, and what we should be willing to sacrifice for true freedom. We also have Dedrick, a young man who has risked his life saving and serving others for almost 4 years, who is in love with Liberty, and is very conflicted by her desire to join the Mosheh. Then we have Dr. Supero a many who has lost almost everything he believes in. he saved his life but is now being blackmailed and controlled in ways he does not appreciate or understand. 

This book is a first-rate read and part of a brilliant series. It has amazing characters, a fast paced plot, and a very intriguing and sobering story. But it will leave you hoping that the story continues in some fashion. Maybe another series, an off-shoot stories, or short stories. Something so that readers can return to this world and find out how it changes after these events. This book is a great read for early teens through to adult readers. Linden has become one of my all time favorite authors this series and the West brothers Series are masterfully written! And I recommend it and the whole series to all who are looking for a great read!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Theresa Linden:

Anyone But Him

Chasing Liberty Series:
01 Chasing Liberty
02 Testing Liberty
03 Fight For Liberty
Bound to find Freedom - Short Story

West brothers Series:
Roland West Loner
Life-Changing Love
Battle for His Soul

Standing Strong

Other Books:
A Symbol of Hope - Short Story
A Battle for the Faith (with John Paul Wohlscheid)


Books contributed to:
Image and Likeness: Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Secrets: Visible & Invisible 7 Amazing Stories - Catholic Teen Books

Monday, 21 May 2018

Prayer of the Day An Altar Servers Prayer


Altar Servers Prayer

To be Christ's page at the altar,
To serve Him freely there,
Where even angels falter,
Bowed low in reverent prayer.
To touch the throne most holy,
To hand the gifts for the feast.
To see Him meekly, lowly,
Descend at the word of the priest.
To hear man's poor petition,
To sound the silvery bell,
When he in sweet submission,
Comes down with us to dwell.
No grander mission surely
Could saints or men enjoy:
No heart should love more purely,
Than yours who serve with joy.
God bless you child forever,
And keep you in his care.
And guard you that you never
Belie the robes you wear.
For white bespeaks untainted
A heart both tried and true:
And red tells love the sainted
And holy martyrs knew.
Throughout your life, then, endeavor
God's graces to do right;
And be in heart forever
God's witness and God's knight


I came across this prayer in the documentation that was handed over when i took over altar server formation. There was a prayer booklet created at our parish for altar servers many years ago. I really like this prayer and wanted to share it. I wonder if this prayer is part of the reason our parish switched from black to red cassocks for the younger alter servers. And will share others as time goes on. With a hat tip to the Canadian Rosary Brigade. Below is a picture of another prayer we have up in the sacristy. 





Sunday, 20 May 2018

Pentecost Sunday 2018 A Reflection

Pentecost Sunday 2018

The readings for this weekend's mass are:

First Reading Acts 2:1-11
Responsorial Psalm 104: 1, 24, 29-21, 34 Response 30
Second Reading 1Corinthians 12:3-7, 12-13or Galatians 5: 16-25
Gospel John 20:19-23 or John 15: 26,27 16:12-15

I believe this celebration is one that does not get the focus that it should. Aside from Christmas, and Easter this is one of the most important events in the history of the Church. At Pentecost the followers of Jesus were touched by the Holy Spirit. And a new day in the church began. The disciples were energized and began preaching. And People heard them in their own language. I have done many studies on the Gifts of the Spirit; from both Catholic sources and evangelical. I have lead bible studies on the gifts and fruits of the spirit going back 30 years to my time at Queen's and 20 years ago at the University of Waterloo. 

A few weeks ago, at church a friend at church invited me to a different Parish for a Life in the Spirit group. I had done that course on a vocations weekend over 30 years ago. There is nothing so divisive as interpretations of spiritual gifts and their use today. In Catholic, evangelical, and mainline protestant churches. The debate over what the Holy Spirit can and does do today is nearly endless. I have seen incredible things at Steubenville, at Promise Keepers, and in small groups on university campus. I have seen healings, and also others wait 30 years and are still hopeful for healing. 

This Sunday we are reminded that we are anointed with the Holy Spirit at baptism, confirmation, and during the sacrament of Holy Orders. The Same spirit that performed miracles in the bible, is accessible to us today. I am thankful that I am a member of the Catholic Church that is open to miracles but does not believe they are required. I am thankful that Catholic church is open to the modern use of the gifts of the spirit but does not expect that everyone will speak in tongues. I am thankful we celebrate Pentecost and remember what has happened before, and what can happen again.

And I pray come Holy Spirit come!


Saturday, 19 May 2018

Prayer to Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati

Prayer to Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati

Blessed Pier Giorgio, you taught me how to lead
an unselfish life and to keep those who suffer
close to my heart. You had good times with your
friends and you really enjoyed sports. But you
always kept God and love and kindness to others 
as your highest priorities.

Help me when I try to imitate you and I
Stumble. Help me when I lose my grip in trying
to climb always closer to God.

I want to be an apostle of Jesus just like you.
Amen.

This past year I read two books about Pier Giorgio, both were excellent reads and inspired me. This Prayer comes from this book in the Encounter the Saints Series:

Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati 
Journey to the Summit
Encounter the Saints Series Book 18
Susan Helen Wallace 
Ray Morelli (Illustrator)
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819811653


The Other was this one:

Blessed Pier Giorgio FrassatiAn Ordinary Christian
Maria Amata Di Lorenzo
Robert Ventresca (Translator)
Pauline Books and Media
ISBN 9780819811622



I highly recommend both books and praying this prayer!


Friday, 18 May 2018

Prayer of the Day Saint Padre Pio Prayer when Blue

Padre Pio Prayer when Blue

Stay with me, Lord, for it is necessary to have you present so that I do not forget you. You know how easily I abandon you.
Stay with me, Lord, because I am weak, and I need your strength, so that I may not fall so often.
Stay with me, Lord, for you are my life, and without you, I am without fervor.
Stay with me, Lord, for you are my light, and without you, I am in darkness.
Stay with me, Lord, to show me your will.
Stay with me, Lord, so that I hear your voice and follow you.
Stay with me, Lord, for I desire to love you very much, and always be in your company.
Stay with me, Lord, if you wish me to be faithful to you.
Stay with me, Lord, for as poor as my soul is, I want it to be a place of consolation for you, a nest of love.?Amen.

~St. Pio of Pietrelcina


I have a number of friends who have struggled with depression, and even had my own blue seasons. I keep coming cross variations on this prayer from numerous sources. This one come from Aleteia.