Wednesday 27 May 2020

Prepper Jack - Diane Capri - Hunt For Reacher Book 9

Prepper Jack
Hunt For Reacher Book 9
Diane Capri
August Books
eISBN 9781942633211

Last year I read 42 stories featuring Jack Reacher. First I read the 29 Jack Reacher Novels and short stories by Lee Child. And then Ai read all the books in this series. This is the ninth novel in the Hunt for Reacher Series, and the twelfth story featuring Otto and Gaspar. The source book for this volume was Lee Child’s Die Trying. In that one Reacher was in the wrong place at the wrong time, and could not leave a woman behind. In this one someone else is in the wrong place at the wrong time, and it has serious consequences for agent Otto. 

I enjoyed :

Kim L. Otto
Charles Cooper
Lamont Finlay
Carlos Gaspar
John Lawton
Michael Flint
Holly Johnson
Pinto Vigo
Mason O’Hare
Jake Reacher

Jack Reacher

I enjoyed Die Trying but it is not one of my favourite Reacher novels. And this is not my favourite Hunt For Reacher novels either.  In fact, for the first time in this series I put this book down twice and read other books before coming back to it. I did read it over a few days, but it felt strained. Maybe part of it is that Gaspar is retired and Otta is working on her own. Or maybe the abduction of Lawton. Otto is out on her own in this story in more ways than one. She is almost killed during a routine questioning of people at a place of interest. She realizes she needs backup and Reacher owes her one and she reaches out. But She never know if or when he will show up. 

The story involves preppers who just want to get by. A drug lord with grand plans. Balloning, helicopters, and a daring rescue before a morning raid by authorities. 

The story is a good continuation of Die Trying but in my opinion it is not on the same level of the others in the series. But still a good read. After the other 11 stories in the series my expectations are very high. If you are a fan of the series it is a must read. If you have not read any of them, start at the beginning! 

Books by Diane Capri:
Hunt for Reacher Series:

1.0 Don’t Know Jack
1.1 Jack in a Box
1.2 Jack and Kill
2.0 Get Back Jack
2.5 Jack in the Green
3.0 Jack and Joe
4.0 Deep Cover Jack
5.0 Jack the Reaper
6.0 Black Jack
7.0 Ten Two Jack
8.0 Jack of Spades
9.0 Prepper Jack
10.0 Full Metal Jack
Justice Series:
1.0 Due Justice
2.0 Twisted Justice
3.0 Secret Justice
4.0 Wasted Justice
5.0 Raw Justice
5.5 Mistaken Justice
6.0 Cold Justice
6.1 False Justice
6.2 Fair Justice
6.3 True Justice
7.0 Hunt for Justice
8.0 Night Justice

Jess Kimball Series:
0.5 Fatal Enemy
1.0 Fatal Distraction
2.0 Fatal Demand
3.0 Fatal Error
4.0 Fatal Fall
4.5 Fatal Edge
5.0 Fatal Game
6.0 Fatal Bond
6.5 Fatal Past
7.0 Fatal Dawn

Heir Hunter Series:
1.0 Blood Trials
2.0 Trace Evidence

Jordan Fox Mysteries:
False Truth Part One
False Truth Part Two
False Truth Part Three
False Truth Part Four
False Truth Part Five
False Truth Part Six
False Truth Part Seven
False Truth Part Eight
False Truth Part Nine
False Truth Part Ten
False Truth Part Eleven

The Park Hotel Mysteries Series:
1.0 Reservation with Death
2.0 Early Check Out
3.0 Room with a Clue
4.0 Late Arrival

Other Books:
Angel of Music

No comments: