Friday 29 May 2020

Dragon Assassin 7 Hidden Powers - Arthur Slade - Dragon Assassin Book 7

Dragon Assassin 7: Hidden Powers
Arthur Slade
Dava Enterprises

This series consistently gets better. We had to wait a longer for this installment in the Dragon Assassin series, but it has proved more than worth it. I have been a fan of Slade’s work for many years, and this series is pure classic fantasy. It reminds me of the fantasy I first fell in love with late in grade school and in high school. When I first started reading after overcoming my dyslexia. It is the type of book that helped me fall in love with reading. And it is a series I am now sharing with my son. Reading this is great fiction and a trip down memory lane.  The series start as episodic, is both a good thing and a bad thing. At first it was about a book a month. And the original goal was to publish a book a month for a year. But things changed and we had a wait for book 6, and a longer wait for book 7 and my understanding is book 8 will be released soon after this volume to wrap up the series.

This installment again is very different than the others to date. It is another excellent piece of writing. In this volume Carmen, Brax, Thord, and Megan have been flying for days. They are on a quest from Brax’s dead master Vecterix.  They are flying to the lands in the east, and looking for a man with no mane. And boy ok boy are they in for a surprise. And what a sight they must make. Carmen, riding Brax the dragon, And Thord and Megan on their black swans. 

There are more twists in this story than I expected, and I was waiting for a bog one. This is another wonderful story from the masterful pen of Arthur Slade. In a classic fantasy style. It was a book that I could not put down, and as the penultimate tale in the Dragon Assassin series it sets us up for an incredible finale. 

If you have not read an of Slade’s writing, you owe it to yourself to give them a try. And this is an incredible series. Great stories, excellent characters. A plot full of action and twists. I highly recommend this book and this series they are great!   

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 

No comments: