Friday 24 November 2017

Amber Fang: Betrayal - Arthur Slade - Librarian. Assassin. Vampire. Book 2

Amber Fang: Betrayal 
Librarian. Assassin. Vampire. Book 2
Arthur Slade
Dava Enterprises
ISBN 9780988013933

There are few contemporary Canadian authors who are always on my must read list; Arthur Slade, Cecil Castellucci, and Kenneth Oppel. So when a new book by Slade comes out it immediately jumps to the top of my reading pile. Since I was captivated by Dust, back in 2002 I have read or reread one of his books over 30 times. And this series if fun, and whimsical, humorous and a lot of action all mixed up in one. In my review of book 1 I stated that this series "reads like a cross between the TV series Dexter with Angel except the lead is a woman, and an aspiring librarian at that. Or a mash up of Tom Clancy, Anne Rice but with more than a little humour smattered in." And after book two I would say even more so. Though maybe a dash of Spider Robinson thrown in this time just to mix it up.

This book, and this series, has a little something for every reader. You have a secret government organization, that has been nearly wiped out. The lead character is a young beautiful vampire, but her mother raised her with a conscience (she only hunts murders and only if they have no remorse), you have academia. There is also a billionaire trying to create super soldiers. And a secret society of librarians around the world who are aware of the government organization, Aware of Amber and her Library studies, and aware of the conflict currently going on. But they want to stay impartial and just document. 

Amber Fang has been hunting, but not for her next meal. She is trying to find her mother. He mother has been missing for a while now, and has become Amber's first priority. But things do not always go as expected. 

In a novel that starts in Antarctica. And journeys around the globe. Amber Fang has a revelation that will change her world forever. But Sometimes it is worse when you find something you were not even aware you were looking for, and then have it turn out to not be what you though. 

But be warned this book ends with a huge cliff hanger! This book continues the wonderful Amber Fang series, vampire, assassin, librarian.  Now amber has gone from being a girl just trying to finish grad school and find her next meal. To a woman of the world, seeking answers and battling bad guys from more than one side. 

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies
Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 


No comments: