Monday 20 September 2010

The Haunting of Drang Island - Arthur Slade - Northern Frights #2

The Haunting of Drang Island
Northern Frights #2
Arthur Slade
Orca Books Publishers
ISBN 1551431114

There are three books in the Northern Frights series by Arthur Slade. They are some of his earliest published works and each is a story based on Norse mythology. They were published under the name Arthur G. Slade by Orca Book Publishers. Even though they are currently out of print, they are really worth tracking down.

Michael Asmudson and his father arrive on Drang Island to spend a few weeks camping together, while his dad does research on the myths and legends that surround the island. Michael's first night on the island he meets a strange, strong-willed determined girl named Fiona Gavin. And also that first night, both their tents are vandalized with animal blood written as a warning.
Soon it appears that the legends, myths and tales of spirits, strange sacrifices and sea serpents that surround the island might not be that far from the truth. Soon Michael, his father and Fiona find themselves in mortal danger. Michael must make hard decisions, make sacrifices and take risks to do what is right.

This book was an amazing read. As a teenager I too was fascinated by Norse and Celtic legends and myths. To see them come back to life in a modern day Canadian setting was amazing. Every time I had to put the book down, I regretted it and wished I could just pick it up and keep reading. The story is very well written, the characters believable and the plot full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing right until the end.

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 


Nikki in Niagara said...

Sounds good! I hadn't known about these. My plan has been to finish off Kenneth Oppel's books next year (just have the picture books & the 2 early novels left) which I've since found out you are doing this year as well as Slade's books.

I had just thought I really had Tribes and Meggido's (sp) Shadow left to read of his but I see he has a secret backlist there I hadn't known about!

Steven R. McEvoy said...

The Northern Fights are great, I think they should be republished as a single volume omnibus edition! All three stories in one.