Wednesday 24 March 2021

All the Lies - J.E. Mayhew - DCI Will Blake Book 5.0

All the Lies
DCI Will Blake Book 5.0
Obolus Books
Zertex Crime
ISBN 9781999840785

Wow, this is the 6th story in the DCI Will Blake series and it is my favorite to date. A very solid 5/5 Stars! I have read the last few stories in the order they were released. At the beginning I was jumping around. I have stated before that each of the stories are strong enough to be read on its own, but they are better as part of the series and better yet being read in order. I discovered this series based on a recommendation from Alex Smith, author of the DCI Kett books. I had read all the Kett books and was awaiting the next Softley Softley book when Smith mentioned book two in this series, Fearful Symmetry, and gave it a plug. I am still waiting for that Softley novel. But have had a lot of DCI Blake stories to fill the time. After reading that first story I discovered that the author publishes under two names, much like Smith. One for Adult crime novels, J.E. Mayhew and another for Young Adult and younger readers, Jon Mayhew. And I have now read books under both names. I was glad I gave that first one a try and after reading all six currently available I know I will read this series as long as new books are published in it. I also have plans to go back and read more of Mayhew’s Young Adult offerings as well. These books are not as gritty as the Kett novels, but they are excellent British crime procedural stories. When I reviewed a Kett story I stated I could see Jamie Bamber as DCI Kett, and while reading this I could not help but picture Karl Urban as DCI Will Blake. And can picture it much like the TV series Wired in the Blood. 

But let us now return to this specific book. This story is very different than the last offering. Blake is prepared to go looking for his love, Laura Vexley, who is on the run. But he receives a call from his sister, stating she is being accused of murder and needs his help. So Blake heads off to Scotland to see what he can do to help his sister. He finds a run-down former estate now a commune, with artists, wierdos, a former rocker and occultist owned the place and now his daughter runs things. A lot is amiss. And snowed in with the suspects Blake finds much more than he bargained for. The description of this volume is:

“How do you find the killer when everyone at the crime scene claims they are to blame? Just as DCI Will Blake is about to set off to hunt for his missing partner, a phone call from Scotland drags him in a completely different direction. Blake’s sister has been accused of murder and she needs his help to clear her name. But the local police aren’t too impressed with the ‘celebrity scouse copper’ dropping in and Blake’s problems escalate. When Blake finds himself snowed in with The Paradise Found Community, he realises that the truth is a fast-moving target, and nobody is exactly who they claim to be. Even the valley itself holds a dark and hideous secret. Trapped, Blake must call on the goodwill of others back on Merseyside to help him unravel the mystery. But that is not without its dangers, too. As the death toll rises, Blake is in a race against time to catch the killer before he disappears with the melting snows.”

And it appears that everyone has lies and secrets they do not want Blake or the local coppers finding out. And Laura Vexley must come to terms with her own lies, and what to do about them. This story is intense from start to finish. It was nearly impossible to put down. But in this instance Black has back up, at home, with the local department, and with an old man who rescues him from a snow storm.

I have enjoyed these books so much that I have pre-ordered the last few. And started reading the morning the eBook dropped on my device.  

It is another great read from the pen of J.E. Mayhew. An excellent offering in a great series. Another book that leaves you desperate for the next volume, All the Lies. But nervous about where they will go. An excellent British crime lit novel.  

Books as J.E. Mayhew:
DCI William Blake Series:

Books as Jon Mayhew:
The Spybrarian

Monster Odyssey Series:
1.0 The Eye of Neptune
2.0 The Wrath of the Lizard Lord
3.0 The Curse of the Ice Serpent
4.0 The Venom of the Scorpion

Mortlock Series:
2.0 The Demon Collector
3.0 The Bonehill Curse

Collins Big Cat Series:
The Merchant of Venice: Band 16/Sapphire
Hamlet: Band 18/Pearl
Romeo and Juliet: Band 18/Pearl
Macbeth: Band 18/Pearl

Contributed to:
Beyond the Book: A Collection of Short Stories
Storycraft: How To Teach Creative Writing
Criminal Shorts: UK Crime Book Club Anthology
Make Doves Not War - Forward

Books as Edwin Torr:
Dead Means Dead Series
1.0 Demons - 2017
1.3 Cotton Candy - 2017
1.9 Remurdered - 2017
2.0 Angel Hunter - 2017
2.5 Cold Caller - 2017
3.0 Jigsaw Girl - 2018

No comments: