Wednesday 24 June 2020

Once Upon a Frog - Sarah Mlynowski - Whatever After Book 8

Once Upon a Frog
Whatever After Book 8
Sarah Mlynowski
eISBN 9780545746618

This is the fifth book in this series that I have read with my oldest daughter. A few years ago when she was a reluctant reader. Back then when we read, I would read two pages for every page she read to me. But she has just read this book to me and read the whole thing in four sittings. She also read a few books in the series to her aunt and gram on a road trip last year. The whole family loves these stories from 8-year old’s to 79 year old’s. It is a wonderful series, and currently it is my oldest daughters favorite in the series. 

Both my daughter and I give this story a solid 5/5 stars. We loved the twists on the old tale. We appreciated that Abby learned a lesson about judging people and applied it once out of the fairy tale and back at school. There are a few more twists in this story that in the other volumes we have read together. 

My daughters thought: the plot twist when the prince turned back blew my mind. Realizing that things are not as they appear. And we need to figure out why people are doing what they are doing. Especially if it seems weird, rude or strange. And to make sure that our own reactions are not worse than what is being done to us. 

The story is an excellent take on a familiar tale. And the fact that Jonah is infused with Maryrose’s memories. And that those memories help them to figure out why they went through the mirror this time. And to determine who the villain really is. Every time we read an adventure of Abby and Sarah we learn something.  

The writings in these stories is excellent. My daughter and I love reading them together. And the retelling of the story of the Frog Prince was full of surprise. It really is one of the best in the series that we have read so far. It is an excellent book in a great series.

Books by Sarah Mlynowski:
Magic in Manhattan Series:

Bras & Broomsticks
Frogs & French Kisses
Spells & Sleeping Bags
Parties & Potions

Whatever After Series:

Fairest of All
If the Shoe Fits
Sink or Swim
Dream On
Bad Hair Day
Cold As Ice
Beauty Queen
Once Upon a Frog
Genie in a Bottle

Sugar and Spice
Two Peas in a Pod
Seeing Red
Spill the Beans
Good as Gold
Just Dance 

Whatever After Special Editions:
Abby in Wonderland
Abby in Oz

Upside-Down Magic Series:
Upside-Down Magic #1
Sticks and Stones #2
Showing Off #3

Other Books by Sarah:
Monkey Business
As Seen on TV
Me Vs. Me
Gimme a Call
Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have)
Don't Even Think About It
Think Twice
Know It All
A Nice Fling is Hard to Find
A Little Bit Broken
Party Girls
The Two-Month Itch

Books Coauthored:
See Jane Write (with Farrin Jacobs)
How to Be Bad (with E. Lockhart and Lauren Myracle)

Books Contributed To:
Girls' Night In
Girls Night Out
American Girls About Town
Vacations from Hell

No comments: