Friday 5 June 2020

Dragon Assassin 8 Burning Empire - Arthur Slade - Dragon Assassin Book 8

Dragon Assassin 8Burning Empire
Arthur Slade
Dava Enterprises

What an intense conclusion to this saga. When this series launched it was planned for an installment a month, over a year. That did not happen. But the waits have proved worth it, and the volumes have got progressively longer. And this final piece of the story is an exceptional piece of writing. The intensity and drama in this series built with every volume. And Slade has again delivered an excellent read.

The series begin with Carmen who is about to graduate from the Assassin Guild, who meets the Dragon Brax trapped in a cave. And the Assassin Guild nearly being wiped out. Carmen and Brax make an agreement and both have made oaths. But after travelling all over the lands. In volume 1 we had:

Assassin School
A Dragon
A deal with said dragon
And more

Volume two continued with:

A reunion with a friend
An adversary turned friend
Aide from a former mentor and teacher
Another betrayal
A dragon to the rescue
The promise of three hands and a claw

Book three was where the plot twists began. Volume for we learned about dragon culture and customs. Volume six has a battle to the death. And Volume seven has a land of wizards, and a sort of reunion. And in this volume, it all comes together. And we return to some of the places from the first volume. And in this volume the twists in the plot completely took me by surprise.

Across the eight volumes we see a lot of action. The story is truly epic in a classic fantasy style. When Carmen goes out alone with Nameless, I was doubtful of the outcome. And when … Well to find out you will need to read the book.

The writing in this book and series is excellent. It is written in such a classic style. It reminds me of books I read when I was younger. It was a very enjoyable series. And an excellent addition to the canon of works from Slade’s masterful pen.

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

No comments: