Wednesday 2 October 2019

Dragon Assassin 6 Royal Blood - Arthur Slade - Dragon Assassin Book 6

Dragon Assassin 6: Royal Blood
Arthur Slade
Dava Enterprises

This series keeps getting better and better. We may have had to wait a little longer for this installment in the Dragon Assassin series, but it has proved more than worth it. This is a book that is being released serially. There is a new chapter coming out about every month or so. I have been a fan of Slade’s work for many years, and this series is pure classic fantasy. It reminds me of the fantasy I first fell in love with late in grade school and in high school. It is the type of book that helped me fall in love with reading. And it is a series I am now sharing with my son. Being episodic, is both a good thing and a bad thing. It is good because we get new parts of the story much more frequently. And bad in that we are often left hanging. But that was not the case this time. It was a less suspenseful ending but the suspense in this installment more than makes up for that. In many ways reading this is like being a kid again in the 70’s or 80’s and waiting for the next episode of a show each week. Except the wait now is a month or two. But up until now the waits have been more than worth it. And this latest installment is one of the best, but I seem to be saying that with each new one. I was not even sure Slade could top some of the pieces of the story already released. As soon as one of these stories release, I drop whatever I am reading, and this immediately jumps to the book being read. And this one keep up the tradition of excellence. 

This installment was very different than the others to date. It is an excellent piece of writing. We continue with the homage to Merlin from the precious volume. Carmen is helping both Brax and his brother. Brax’s father is in a battle to the death. And soon there are more. There are several twists in the story this time. And a surprise reunion towards the end. 

To find out more you will need to read this book and the five that go before it. I have said before that Arthur Slade has a masterful pen. He often writes with wit and humour unlike any other. In this new series he is writing in a classic fantasy style I grew up reading. And not only does he craft stories in a classic style, he does so with great skill and mastery. 

For many years now Slade has ended up on my favorite authors list. He will again this year for any of the volumes in this series. And some of the other stories published. If you love a great fantasy story, in an epic style you must give this book and this series a try!    

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

No comments: