Thursday 13 June 2019

Does Your Mother Know? - Maureen Jennings - Christine Morris Book 1

Does Your Mother Know?
Christine Morris Book 1
Maureen Jennings
A Castle Street Mystery
ISBN 9781550026399
eISBN 9781554885237

I have read five books by Maureen Jennings in as many weeks. I have been jumping series and am now alternating books in three of her four series. This is book one in the Christine Morris series. And wow, what a tale. This was another book by Jennings that I could hardly put down. It is a masterfully written story. 

Christine Morris is a newly trained police profiler. A new role to her after years on the force in Toronto. This story begins with her in Edinburgh at a conference on new police methods and practices. While there she receives a call from the Northern Constabulary, Stornoway, Outer Hebrides, and that her mother was involved with a motor vehicle death and is now missing. Chris has not had contact with her mother in a few years, and they relationship has been rocky as long as she can remember. Yet once again it appears that her mother’s sins are about to be visited on the daughter. After a near sleepless night she packs up to head to Stornoway to se what she can figure out. 

The novel is filled with incredible scenery. The countryside, the people, the secrets. It is a tale that was incredibly hard to put down. There is one dead from the auto accident, another that the Dr says is suspicious, and yet Christie finds clues that all is not as it appears. You have family conflict. Family secrets. And Generations learning to come to terms with events both current and some much older. 

I have yet to encounter anything by Jennings that I have not enjoyed! And this book was a real page turner. I only wish I had begun reading her books years ago when I first started watching the Murdoch TV series, then I would not be so far behind on the book. But at my current pace of about a book a week, I should have them all done this year. Every time I finish one I purchase 2 or three more, to have them read to go. An excellent read and I look forward to the next in the series and hope they will be more soon.

Books by Maureen Jennings:
Detective Murdoch Series:

0.5 Shipwreck
1.0 Except the Dying
2.0 Under the Dragon's Tail
3.0 Poor Tom Is Cold
4.0 Let Loose the Dogs
5.0 Night's Child
6.0 Vices of My Blood
7.0 A Journeyman to Grief
8.0 Let Darkness Bury the Dead

Detective Inspector Tom Tyler Series:
1.0 Season of Darkness
2.0 Beware This Boy
3.0 No Known Grave
4.0 Dead Ground in Between

Christine Morris Series:
1.0 Does Your Mother Know?
2.0 The K Handshape

Paradise Café Series:

1.0 Heat Wave
2.0 November Rain

Other books:
The Map of Your Mind: Journeys into Creative Expression
Investigating Murdoch Mysteries: The Official Companion to the Series – with Michelle Ricci and Mir Bahmanyar

No comments: