Wednesday 5 June 2019

Season of Darkness - Maureen Jennings - Tom Tyler Book 1

Season of Darkness 
Tom Tyler Book 1
Maureen Jennings
McClelland & Stewart
An imprint of Penguin Random House Canada

ISBN 9780771043284
eISBN 9780771043277

This was the third book by Maureen Jennings that I have read in as many weeks. It is the first book in the Tom Tyler series, and the first for me to read in that series. I must say even thought it a dark tale it was a very enjoyable read. After being a fan of Murdoch for years, I have finally started reading the books by the women who came up with the character. And though this book is set many years after the Murdoch books, and is set in England, and not Canada, it is a wonderful read. 

The story is set after the hasty retreat of Dunkirk in 1940. The story takes place in Shropshire, England. When a young woman, one of the Land Army Girls turns up dead and the results of the autopsy are very disturbing, and the scene where the body was found has inconsistencies. Tom Tyler is woken from tying one on and called to the scene. As the investigation progresses another young woman goes missing. Tom has also had a chance encounter with a former flame. 

An intriguing mystery set in a hard time. A story revolving around an internment camp in England. Jewish and German detainees. Land Army girls. A married man who sparks things up with an old flame. And young men devastated by the events of Dunkirk. 

I thoroughly enjoyed this mystery. And I have already started a book in yet another of the series by Maureen Jennings. This was a great story, with an excellent pace, and some wonderful characters. I look forward to reading others in this series and other books by Jennings. 

Books by Maureen Jennings:
Detective Murdoch Series:

0.5 Shipwreck
1.0 Except the Dying
2.0 Under the Dragon's Tail
3.0 Poor Tom Is Cold
4.0 Let Loose the Dogs
5.0 Night's Child
6.0 Vices of My Blood
7.0 A Journeyman to Grief
8.0 Let Darkness Bury the Dead

Detective Inspector Tom Tyler Series:
1.0 Season of Darkness
2.0 Beware This Boy
3.0 No Known Grave
4.0 Dead Ground in Between

Christine Morris Series:
1.0 Does Your Mother Know?
2.0 The K Handshape

Paradise Café Series:

1.0 Heat Wave
2.0 November Rain

Other books:
The Map of Your Mind: Journeys into Creative Expression
Investigating Murdoch Mysteries: The Official Companion to the Series – with Michelle Ricci and Mir Bahmanyar

No comments: