Monday 3 December 2018

The Siege Of Reginald Hill - Corinna Turner - I Am Margaret Book 6.0

The Siege of Reginald Hill
I Am Margaret Book 6.0
Corinna Turner
UnSeen Books an Imprint of
Zephyr Publishing
eISBN 9781910806791
ISBN 9781910806807

The ‘I Am Margaret’ series has been full of surprises. It is currently comprised of 5 novels, one journal, 3 short stories, and a story in an anthology. This series and especially this story keep it fresh and new, and in a good way. Few series have the staying power of these books. And in some ways the story in this one is the most powerful yet! To summarize for those unfamiliar with the series, in book one, Margaret Verrall was selected for sorting, basically she failed a test and has been selected to just be spare parts for citizens of the Euro Block. But after winning a writing contest under a different name, and publishing a novel things have changed drastically.

At the time of this story sortings have been stopped. Religious freedoms are returning. The value of each human life is growing again. But in the middle of the night, during Eucharistic adoration, Fr Kyle Verrall has been abducted. He knows things are not good when he recognizes the voice of Reginald Hill, one of the most powerful men in the history of the Euro Bloc. Kyle knows Reginald, and know there are likely few people who hate his sister as much as Reginald. And not being able to get to Margaret in the Vatican Free State, he has come to Africa and captured her brother. When they begin the conscious dismemberment of Kyle, his prayers intensify. 

But who really is the captor and who really is free. After chapter two the story is told alternatively from the perspective of Kyle and Margo. In fact the chapter titles are just the news of whose part of the story it is. There are 32 short chapters in the volume. The story is nearly impossible to put down. I believe it is strong enough to be read on its own, but the whole series is incredible and worth reading. This story deals with themes of prayer, abandonment to God’s will, possible martyrdom, and forgiveness. It is a solid example of loving your enemy. 

The story is very well crafted. The story is tightly written. And the plot is excellent. It is a prime example of Catholic’s in the arts. Though written as teen fiction, this book and this whole series can be enjoyed by anyone who loves a great suspenseful read.  

Another incredible read in an amazing series!

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2018 Catholic Reading Plan! 

The Siege of Reginald Hill Blog Tour:

December 1 – I Am Margaret
December 3 – Book Reviews and More
December 4 –
December 5 – Regina Doman
December 6 – Theresa Linden
December 7 – The Catholic Bard!
December 8 – T.M. Gaouette
December 10 – Carolyn Astfalk
December 13 – Leslea Wahl
December 14 – Elizabeth Amy Hajek

Books by Corinna Turner:
I Am Margaret Series:
0.0 The Underappreciated Virtues of Rusty Old Bicycles (A prequel)
0.5 Brothers (Prequel)
1.0 I Am Margaret
1.5 How Snakey Got His Name (Short Story)
2.0 The Three Most Wanted
3.0 Liberation
4.0 Bane's Eyes

5.0 Margo's (Attempted) Diary & Notebook
5.5 An Unexpected Guest
6.0 The Siege of Reginald Hill
6.5 Buttons (Short Story)
7.0 A Saint in the Family
I Am Margaret The Play - Fiorella de Maria

Yesterday and Tomorrow Series:

Tomorrow's Dead

unSPARKed Series:

Mandy Lamb Series:
Mandy Lamb and the Full Moon

Contributed to:
Secrets: Visible & Invisible 7 Amazing Stories - Catholic Teen Books
Gifts Visible & Invisible 8 Christmas Stories for Teens
Treasures: Visible & Invisible 8 Stories for Teens

No comments: