Thursday 27 December 2018

Dragon Assassin Twin Fury - Arthur Slade - Dragon Assassin Book 1

Dragon Assassin: Twin Fury
Arthur Slade
Dava Enterprises

I have been a fan of Arthur Slades’s writing since reading both Dust and Tribes in 2002. I am always excited when he has a new boom coming out. And this time we are treated to not only an amazing story, but it is the first in a series, that is supposed to be released at the rate of one volume a month for a year. And man, oh man what a first episode this story is. For that is how this series is being written, sort of like they were episodes in a story. And we will tune in next month to the same Dragon Chanel for the next installment.  

This story has a lot on the go:

Assassin School
A Dragon
A deal with said dragon
And more

Yes, there is a lot at play in this book. And it is really just setting the stage for the series. Carmen was at the top of the class in Assassin school, and then she lost an eye to her twin brother, Corwin, in fencing class. She waffles back and forth between believing it was an accident, and that he did it intentionally to take her place at the top of the class. Now a few years later they are preparing to graduate. Because of a punishment she is a few marks short of graduating. After all her work and striving to overcome her single sightedness. She is given a chance to earn extra points, enough to graduate. She must get a giant swan egg from the wild nesting grounds. Eight years of training will be for naught if she cannot get the egg. During the quest to get the egg, she encounters a Dragon, Brax, trapped in a cave, ensnared by magic. For her life she promises to return. But when she does everything has changed. For the Emperor has declared war on assassins. And what was to be her graduation night has seen bloodshed, betrayal, and destruction. Now she must make a new deal, and her only thought is revenge.

The story is tightly written in a first-person narrative. And readers will come to love and root for Carmen, even with her hard and at times crusty exterior. The pace is excellent. The setting and characters are masterfully done. The story ends on a cliff hanger with a lot of options for where it will go. I cannot help but keep thinking on or imagining Carmen and Brax’s flight into the night, and adventures to come.

The story reminds me of Zelanzy’s Amber books and also a bit like The Last Namsara by Kristen Ciccarelli fans of both will appreciate this new story. This is an excellent fantasy story, by a wonderful writer. Fans of fantasy will really appreciate the craft in the telling of this tale. It is an excellent book and I recommend you pick it up and give it a read! I have already read this book twice and look forward to the next installment.

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 

No comments: