Monday 7 February 2022

Boots of Peace - Theresa Linden - Armor of God Series Book 3

Boots of Peace
Armor of God Book 3
Theresa Linden
Silver Fire Publishing

ISBN 9781734992915
eISBN 9798201320546

I have now read books from Linden’s pen 26 times, and her contributions to anthologies several times each. To say that Theresa Linden is one of my contemporary Catholic and Christian authors, would be a bit of an understatement. Everything I have read from her has been impressive. I have reread several of her books myself, and reread others with one or more of my children. My children are all through their first communion, but even so we love this book and this series. I am a fan of all of Linden’s writings, but this series geared for a younger audience than her other works is excellent and a great addition to the canon of her work. And this offering brings us to the halfway point in the series.

As is obvious by the series title this series is based on the Armour of God:

“Therefore, put on the armor of God, that you may be able to resist on the evil day and, having done everything, to hold your ground. So, stand fast with your loins girded in truth, clothed with righteousness as a breastplate, and your feet shod in readiness for the gospel of peace. In all circumstances, hold faith as a shield, to quench all the flaming arrows of the evil one. And take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”
~ Ephesians 6:13-17

The chapters in the story are:

1 Strange Rock
2 The Few
3 Tilting The Lance
4 Fendrel
5 Rumor Of Dragons
6 Knights, Probably
7 Helping Hands
8 Instigating
9 Headache
10 Victory And Defeat
11 Erik’s Problem
12 Hooded Figures
13 Why Not Me?
14 Patience And Peace
15 Finally

The description of the book is:

“When Sir Lucian, the one-armed knight, says that few pages will receive the Boots of Peace, George Pennington and his friends work extra hard at peacemaking. While Robyn arranges help for a troubled family, George's little brother Erik struggles with Sir Michael's jousting lessons. George, however, can't stop thinking about the strange rock he once discovered in the knights' woods. He will stop at nothing to find out more about it, but he just might be missing a very important point about peace.”

At the beginning of the book is a note ‘Dear Reader’ And at the end a section about the author and about the series. All three are worth reading. Between many of the chapters are Brother Coll’s Catechism Lesson, there are 7 of these lessons. This is the continuing story of George Pennington. He is a young lad who is attending knight’s school. To graduate they must obtain the 6 pieces of the armor of God. Six levels of training to become a squire. In the first volume, Belt of Truth, only some of the classmates do not get their belt. And it was very close for George. George learned the value of truth, even if you need to admit to lies, and mistakes you have made. Robyn Haylan and Erik, Georges younger brother continue to be good influences. In the second they must earn the Breastplate of Righteousness. In this volume they must earn the Boots of Peace. At the beginning of the assignment they are given two lists, one of them is:


The second was:


George has worked really hard to earn the Boots, but does not. When he talked with Sir Lucian about why he is reminded of the lists. He realized that he has helped bring peace to the first four items on the list. But he has failed miserably on the fifth. For his obsession with the Stone Table in the woods has caused his anxiety, fear, led him to sneak around, and even rationalize his own behaviour and obsession. Fortunately squires in training are given a chance a few weeks later to earn them. If not they have to repeat the year.

And in this story George along with his friend Robyn learn the joy of serving and helping others. George has a vision. And they start to learn jousting. The story is a wonderful read. Sir Lucian is a teacher of the kind we would all benefit from. And Brother Coll’s Catechism Lesson are the meat around which the story is written. 

To find out if George earns his boots you will need to read this wonderful story. It is another great read in an excellent series. Great for the youngsters in your life or for some of us that are young at heart. 

Note: This book is part of a series of reviews: 2022 Catholic Reading Plan!

Books by Theresa Linden:
Tortured Soul

Chasing Liberty Series:
01 Chasing Liberty
02 Testing Liberty
03 Fight For Liberty
Bound to find Freedom - Short Story


West brothers Series:
Roland West Loner
Life-Changing Love
Battle for His Soul

Standing Strong
Roland West Outcast
Fire Starters
Fire Starters

Armour of God Series:
Belt of Truth
Breastplate of Righteousness
Boot of Peace
Shield of Faith
Helmet of Salvation
Sword of the Spirit

Armor of God Series Second Edition:

Other Books:
A Symbol of Hope - Short Story
A Battle for the Faith (with John Paul Wohlscheid)


Books contributed to:
Image and Likeness: Literary Reflections on the Theology of the Body
Secrets: Visible & Invisible 7 Amazing Stories - Catholic Teen Books
Gifts Visible & Invisible 8 Christmas Stories for Teens
Treasures: Visible & Invisible 8 Stories for Teens

No comments: