Saturday 15 August 2020

Drang - Arthur Slade - Northern Frights 02

Northern Frights Book 2
Reprint Edition
Arthur Slade
Dava Enterprises

There are three books in the Northern Frights series by Arthur Slade. They are some of his earliest published works and each is a story based on Norse mythology. They were published under the name Arthur G. Slade by Orca Book Publishers between 1997 and 2000. The original title of this volume was The Haunting of Drang Island and is now published as just Drang. It is now back in print in this new edition.

Michael Asmudson and his father arrive on Drang Island to spend a few weeks camping together, while his dad does research on the myths and legends that surround the island. Michael's first night on the island he meets a strange, strong-willed determined girl named Fiona Gavin. Also that first night, both their tents are vandalized with animal blood written as a warning. Soon it appears that the legends, myths and tales of spirits, strange sacrifices and sea serpents that surround the island might not be that far from the truth. Soon Michael, his father and Fiona find themselves in mortal danger. Michael must make hard decisions, make sacrifices, and take risks to do what is right.

This book was an amazing read. As a teenager I too was fascinated by Norse and Celtic legends and myths. To see them come back to life in a modern day Canadian setting was amazing. Every time I had to put the book down, I regretted it and wished I could just pick it up and keep reading. The story is very well written, the characters believable and the plot full of twists and turns that will keep you guessing right until the end.

Over the years I had tracked down a few copies of this book and the series to give to friends, family and our school library. I am very excited to see it back in print. Pick it up, you will not be disappointed! A great read in an excellent series.

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

No comments: