Saturday 14 April 2018

The New Age - Chris d'Lacey - Erth Dragons Book 3

The New Age
Erth Dragons Book 3
Chris D'Lacey
Orchard Books
ISBN 9781408349564

Reviewing this book is a mixed bag of emotions. It is the last book in the Erth Dragon's trilogy, and according to author Chris d'Lacey it will be his last full length Dragon's novel. Chris has four series that dragon's play central rolls. The Dragons of Wayward Crescent, The Last Dragon Chronicles, The Unicorne Files, and The Erth Dragons. The last three series have to some extent full sized dragons. And in some ways there is a feel of continuity between all the series. And this book provides some answers to questions that readers have been speculating about for years.

In the previous two books The Wearle and Dark Wyng are set in the distant past. They follow the first interactions between a second Dragon Colony on Erth, and a people called the Hom. There is a battle raging, both between the dragons and the dragons and all three other races. In this book a boy, a girl and a younger dragon will struggle to save their own world, and maybe all of dragon kind. With the guidance of mythical firebirds something huge is afoot. And events on Erth are shaping up to have ripples throughout the universe and across time.

Chris d'Lacey has woven together pieces of legends and traditions about dragons, polar bears and humans that is an incredible story and myth of its own. The pace of this story is intense to put it mildly. And the characters are amazing, especially Pine and Ren. 

It is hard to write a review of this book that is the culmination of so many different stories, series, and years of work. My first thought is that I cannot do the book, or d'Lancy's work justice. It is a masterful tale written by a true wordsmith. This book was an incredible read. The book and the series are wonderful. 

Another amazing book by Chris d'Lacey!

Books by Chris d'Lacey:
Dragons of Wayward Crescent
Gruffen (2009)
Gauge (2008)
Glade (2009)
Grabber (2010)

The Erth Dragons
The Wearle (2015)
2. Dark Wyng (2016)
3. The New Age (2018)

The Last Dragon Chronicles with David Rain
The Fire Within (2001)
Icefire (2003)
Fire Star (2005)
4 The Fire Eternal (2007)
5 Dark Fire (2009)
6 Fire World (2011)
7 The Fire Ascending (2012)
Rain and Fire: A Guide to the Last Dragon Chronicles (2010)

The Unicorne Files
A Dark Inheritance (2014)
Alexander's Army (2015)
A Crown of Dragons (2016)

Fly, Cherokee Fly Series
Fly, Cherokee Fly
Pawnee Warrior

Other Books
Henry Spaloosh! 
Shrinking Ralph Perfect
The Snail Patrol
The Table Football League
Riverside United
From E to You
Scupper Hargreaves, Football Genie
The Salt Pirates of Skegness
Falling for Mandy
The Prompter

Picture Books:
A Hole at the Pole
Juggling with Jeremy
A Break in the Chain
Read With Bubble and Float
Dexter's Journey
Frankin's Bear

Contributed to:
On Me ‘ead, Santa
Nice One, Santa
The Usborne Book of Christmas Stories
Heroes and Villains
In the Frame
Midnight Feast

Author Profile and Interview with Chris d'Lacey.

No comments: