Friday 23 December 2016

The Lemonade War - Jacqueline Davies

The Lemonade War
The Lemonade War #1
Jacqueline Davies
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 9780618750436
eISBN 9780547529875

This was the first book by Jacqueline Davies that I have read but it will not be the last! This book was recommended to me based on my love of books by Andrew Clements. This book was a fun read, and deals with a number of interesting topics. And I am sure children will love the sibling rivalries.

This book takes place over a summer vacation from school. The two main characters in this book are Evan Treski, Evan is frustrated because his younger sister, Jessie is smarter than him. She is so smart she is skipping a grade and in the fall they will be in the same class. Evan really does not like this and it is eating at him. He does not like it because he already struggles in school, and now his little sister is going to show him up every day in class. Ever is great at people smarts, but Jessie is the brain when it comes to book smarts. But Jessie struggles with interactions with people, especially her peers. But all of this comes to a head when they start the lemonade war. Each out to prove a point. But both unaware of everything the other is feeling.

The characters are very well written. It is really fun watching the siblings battle and keep escalating the conflict. And both are making bad choices, even after struggling with the decision. And then each of them learning to live with it. It was also interesting how much business vocabulary is woven into the story with both the words and their meaning. It is also very interesting to watch the different approaches to business and the conflict with each other.

This book teaches a lot, but without being preachy. It teaches about business, family relationships, teamwork, relationships and also forgiveness.

This book has won a number of awards the 2009 Rhode Island Children's Book Award, 2007 New York Public Library 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing, North Carolina Children’s Book Award 2011, Nutmeg Award 20111. And if the rest of the series is just as good we are in for some more excellent read.

This was a very enjoyable read, I look forward to reading it and the rest of the series with my children, as such I think it is a great book for young readers and those who read with or to them.

Books by Jacqueline Davies:
Nothing but Trouble
Where the Ground Meets the Sky

The Lemonade War Series:
The Lemonade War
The Lemonade Crime
The Bell Bandit
The Candy Smash
The Magic Trap

Picture Books:
Panda Pants
The Night is Singing
The Boy Who Drew Birds
Tricking the Tallyman
The House Takes a Vacation

No comments: