Saturday 14 August 2010

Invasion of the IQ Snatchers - Arthur Slade - Canadian Chills #3

Invasion of the IQ Snatchers
Canadian Chills #3

Arthur Slade

Coteau Books

ISBN 9781550503616

Arthur Slade is one of my favorite contemporary Canadian authors. His biography states that he is a best-known and respected children's author. His books may have been written and published for a younger audience but they are written so well they can be enjoyed by readers of any age. This third book in the Canadian Chills series is a shining example of such a book.

Nanaimo is under attack, and it is up to Gordon Whillickers and Sophia Morrison and Gordon's extremely intelligent parrot Archie, to do something about it. It all begins when Gordon has a plate of Nanaimo bars stolen from his desk by a very hairy assailant. Soon Gordon and Sophie realize the whole town is being turned into mindless zombies watching TV from the 70s and eating tasty bars.

With a mix of robot ants, robot bees, aliens and even a Big Foot this story has something for everyone. Slade does an amazing job of writing a funny, frightening and fantastic book. Kids will love it and parents will enjoy reading along (or maybe even just reading it themselves). This is a third book in a series and it left me desperately wishing I had all three to read.

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 

No comments: