Thursday 29 August 2019

Vices of My Blood - Maureen Jennings - Detective Murdoch Book 6

Vices of My Blood
Detective Murdoch Book 6
Maureen Jennings
McClelland & Stewart
An imprint of Penguin Random House Canada

ISBN 9780771046780
eISBN 9780771043239

Over the past 13 weeks I have read 14 of Maureen Jennings 15 novels. And as this is my second last of her fictional works. I can state with everything I read I am more impressed by her skill, talent, her a master of the writing arts, and consider her a real wordsmith. This is the eights of 9 Murdoch stories I have read, and I consider it one of the best. It is also one of the best across all four of her series. The Murdoch Mysteries follow a specific chronological order. The books published to date are published following a continuous timeline. With overlapping events, elements, and overlapping characters. For example, we encounter Dr. Julia Ogden again in this volume, and she is the corner at a crime scene and later when several people are found dead from carbon monoxide poising. 

This story follows shortly after events in Night's Child. That story takes place in the winter and this story late winter early spring. This we have the spring of 1895, and the setting of Toronto. The story begins with a brutal murder of a pastor. A man that from all early indications was not only a man of the cloth, but a man of great character. When Later the investigation casts some strange light upon his name and reputation it becomes even more crucial that Murdoch figure out what happened. Because of the high-profile case Brackenreid is out for a quick resolution. And even though there is a viable suspect Brackenreid gives Murdoch a few more days to verify the facts and wrap up the case. 

Will ends up working with a confidence crew to help root out the truth in this case. He goes undercover at both a workhouse, lodging overnight, and splitting wood most of the next day. And also at a soup line. Because of being too vigorous during the manual labour he causes a flare up of lumbago. And everyone seems to have a remedy that is guaranteed to work. But Murdoch continues to push and work through the pain. He is determined to get to the truth. There is an interesting scene where Murdoch as a Catholic muses about being in a non-Catholic Church. 

While reading this novel, I could not help but picture characters from the TV Series. The story is written in such a way that it plays vividly in the minds eye. As we follow Murdoch through his investigation, we get glimpses of life at that time in Toronto. This was one that I figured out well before the end. But was so engrossed I still could not put the book down.

Another great read in an excellent series! 

Books by Maureen Jennings:
Detective Murdoch Series:

0.5 Shipwreck
1.0 Except the Dying
2.0 Under the Dragon's Tail
3.0 Poor Tom Is Cold
4.0 Let Loose the Dogs
5.0 Night's Child
6.0 Vices of My Blood
7.0 A Journeyman to Grief
8.0 Let Darkness Bury the Dead

Detective Inspector Tom Tyler Series:
1.0 Season of Darkness
2.0 Beware This Boy
3.0 No Known Grave
4.0 Dead Ground in Between

Christine Morris Series:
1.0 Does Your Mother Know?
2.0 The K Handshape


Paradise Café Series:

1.0 Heat Wave
2.0 November Rain

Other books:
The Map of Your Mind: Journeys into Creative Expression
Investigating Murdoch Mysteries: The Official Companion to the Series – with Michelle Ricci and Mir Bahmanyar

No comments: