Friday 15 June 2012

Megiddo's Shadow - Arthur Slade

Megiddo's Shadow
Arthur Slade
Harper Collins
Browse Inside
ISBN 9780006395706

This story was amazing. It was as gritty as the terrain and time it spans. It follows a young boy, Edward Bathe, as he becomes a man. At sixteen, after the death of his older brother in the Great War, he runs away and joins up. He wants to be infantry just like his brother. But as soon as he arrives in England after basic training, he gets transferred to a mounted unit. He is not happy, especially when his unit ships out. But soon he finds himself on the way to war; he is shipping to British Palestine and the battle there.
The book is dedicated to five members of the Slade family who all fought in the Great War and only one did not come home. The story follows real battles and encounters during the war. It provides the family insight and possibly some family tales and legends, but even so, this story is an incredible read. As we follow young Bathe on a journey to war, he will find what it means to become a man. The writing was amazing and you will not be able to put the book down.

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 

No comments: