Thursday 17 March 2011

Shades 17 Startling Stories - Arthur Slade

Shades: 17 Startling Stories
Arthur Slade

Dava Enterprises

ISBN 9780986855542

There is no question I love Arthur Slade's books, have read nearly all of them and enjoyed each one. From the award winning Dust to the quirky Tribes or Jolted, each one is new and different and shows a breadth of skill in storytelling not often seen. Yet what amazed me most about this collection of short stories was that the variety of plots, storylines and genres represented far surpasses all of his previous work. The stories included in this collection are:

Snow White and the Seven Elves
What's Coming
Garbage Day
Gydian Fights His Greatest Foe
Virtual Dragon
Resurrection Blues
Walt Does The Resurrection
Jesus Busts a Bronc
Not With A Whimper
The Elephant King
A Time For Autonomy
Number Nine World

From his story about a young man sure he is becoming a werewolf, to the hilarious take on Snow White as a socialite and back-stabbing money hungry wench, there is something in this collection for everyone. There is a hilarious story about accountants and how they destroyed the Knights business, because a Knight just cannot afford to fight the dragons any more. Another is about a young man enchanted and charmed by Autumn who then leaves his life, school and family behind to disappear with this apparition. This was an awesome collection of short stories and for the price of just $2.99 for the eBook it cannot be beat. I have already read it twice and know I will reread it again and again. The book also has the first chapter of Slade's award winning Dust as an afterwards so if you have not read it, you will be hooked after reading that first chapter. So pick it up you will not be disappointed!

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 

No comments: