Tuesday 11 May 2010

The Dark Deeps - Hunchback Assignments II - Arthur Slade

The Dark Deeps
Arthur Slade
Hunchback Assignments
Book II

Harper Collins
Browse Inside
ISBN 9781554683567

When I finished book I in this series, The Hunchback Assignments, I was itching for a second book. This book exceeded expectations, and still left me wanting a third book. Arthur Slade has created an amazing new series in the steam punk style. Set in a Victorian Era but with technology they never had. A convincing alternate reality, that engrosses the reader and draws them into the possibilities of the world that has been created.
In this book Modo and Octavia are paired up again to investigate something troubling to the British Empire. Masquerading as Husband and Wife they travel to America, to find a missing British agent and stumble upon some French agents and their plans. They must discover who or what has been sinking ships in the north Atlantic. Modo meets a beautiful French agent named Colette and they end up needing to partner up after both being captured by a new player on the board, a sort of Queen. There is also the reappearance of the Clockwork Guild and it looks like we haven't seen the end of them yet.

This book is incredibly well written. While reading it, you become completely engrossed in the book and will find yourself drawn into their world and rooting for Modo during his adventure. Slade has created a wonderful world with characters you find yourself enamored of, and rooting for.

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 

No comments: