Wednesday 16 December 2015

The Fire Within - Chris d'Lacey - The Last Dragon Chronicles #1

The Fire Within
The Last Dragon Chronicles #1
Chris d'Lacey
Orchard Books 
ISBN 9780439672443
eISBN 9780545414647

I have had most of the books from The Last Dragon Chronicles on my to be read shelf for a few years now. The covers grabbed my attention, I was intrigued by the write ups on the back. But I just kept not getting to them. Looking back I really wish I had sooner. It was not until I picked up Chris's other series The Dragons of Wayward Crescent and started reading them with my children that I discovered how wonderful an author he is. In the last month I have read 5 of his books and currently have 2 underway. 

When reading children's books and young adult books some of my key ideas to make it an excellent book are: would I read it again, would I read it with my children, would I gift it to friends and family. To date all of the Chris d'Lacey books I have read fit into all three categories. This book was an amazing read. As reading it I could completely picture the events and was drawn into the world d'Lacey has created. This book is the interweaving of three stories, the story we are being told, the retelling of the last dragon's story, and the story that is being written within this story. And all three work together perfectly. I need to be pretty impressed with a book to give it 5 out of 5 stars, this one I wish I could give more.

This is also the story of the coming of David to Wayward Crescent and to the creation of his special dragon, Gadzooks. David has come as a border at 42 Wayward Crescent, Scrubbley, Massachusetts, he is in college in Geography and quickly realizes there is something strange at his new home and with Liz and Lucy Pennykettle the mother and daughter he is renting from. He also quickly realizes there is something strange about the Pennykettle dragons. David is also roped into writing a story for Lucy for her birthday. And into trying to rescue a squirrel with an injured eye named Conker. David is told to trust his Dragon - Gadzooks and the dragon will help him. 

This is a wonderful story about magic, friendship, family and discovery. It was fun to read and I look forward to reading the rest of the series. This book comes with the highest of recommendation that I can give so give it a try.    

Books by Chris d'Lacey:
Dragons of Wayward Crescent

Gruffen (2009)
Gauge (2008)
3 Glade (2009)
Grabber (2010)

The Erth Dragons

The Wearle (2015)
2. Dark Wyng (2016)
3. The New Age (2018)

The Last Dragon Chronicles with David Rain
1 The Fire Within (2001)
2 Icefire (2003)
3 Fire Star (2005)
4 The Fire Eternal (2007)
5 Dark Fire (2009)
6 Fire World (2011)
7 The Fire Ascending (2012)
Rain and Fire: A Guide to the Last Dragon Chronicles (2010)

The Unicorne Files
1 A Dark Inheritance (2014)
2 Alexander's Army (2015)
3 A Crown of Dragons (2016)

Fly, Cherokee Fly Series
Fly, Cherokee Fly
Pawnee Warrior

Other Books
Henry Spaloosh! 
Shrinking Ralph Perfect
The Snail Patrol
The Table Football League
Riverside United
From E to You
Scupper Hargreaves, Football Genie
The Salt Pirates of Skegness
Falling for Mandy
The Prompter

Picture Books:
A Hole at the Pole
Juggling with Jeremy
A Break in the Chain
Read With Bubble and Float
Dexter's Journey
Frankin's Bear

Contributed to:
On Me ‘ead, Santa
Nice One, Santa
The Usborne Book of Christmas Stories
Heroes and Villains
In the Frame
Midnight Feast

Author Profile and Interview with Chris d'Lacey.

No comments: