Friday 22 March 2013

The Not So Simple Life - Stephen Shea aka Arthur Slade

The Not So Simple Life
Stephen Shea
aka Arthur Slade
Dava Enterprises

Every now and again an author surprises me. Sometimes it is good, and my opinion of them goes up. Sometimes it is bad. This time it was amazing. I have been a fan of Arthur Slade's writings for many years. Recently I found out he has been publishing books under the name of Stephen Shea and they are amazing! To date there are two novels and a short story published under the name Stephen Shea and I devoured all three in under a week.

Casey Stewart is an advertising copy writer. His Volvo is named Odin and his missing finger is named Frodo. And after a blind date with a woman named Violet, his life is turned upside down. Casey has some idiosyncrasies and a very intriguing back story.

The writing is witty and humorous at its best. Join Casey on a road trip that leads many place and most of them unforeseen. It was an amazing read and I have recommended it to dozens of people. The story is quirky but once you begin the journey you will not want to get off the ride. And you might just want to find out what happens to Casey next! A great read!

Note: This book was originally published in 1996 as The Dragonfly's Journey.

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 

No comments: