Wednesday 20 March 2013

Damage - Stephen Shea aka Arthur Slade

Stephen Shea
aka Arthur Slade
Dava Enterprises

This book is gripping. It was incredibly powerful and a wonderful read. It is an amazing mix of Icelandic and Canadiana. It is like a continuation of his Northern Frights trilogy for an older audience. Or if you read and love this book then those will entertain as well. I could not put this book down.

Things in Kinniwaw are as they were. The summer has been too hot and too long and it is continuing into the fall. But there is a darkness spreading. Something old is waking up and it is stirring; it is bringing darkness and destruction. Forces are being called together and it is bringing a wave of destruction. Can Rand, his longtime girlfriend Kari, and his grandpa save themselves and their town?

The story will trigger something in all readers. We have all encountered darkness in some form. Most of us have struggled to determine who we are and who we want to be. We will all deal with tragedy and loss. This book wraps all of those and more elements together in an amazing mix.

I have been a fan of Arthur Slade's writings for many years. I found out recently that he has been publishing books aimed for adults under the name of Stephen Shea and they are amazing! To date there are two novels and a short story published under the name Stephen Shea and I devoured all three in under a week. Another amazing book by an incredible writer! Give it a try - you will not be disappointed.

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Books by Arthur Slade:
The Dragonfly's Journey (1996)

John Diefenbaker: an Appointment with Destiny (2000)
Dust (2001)
Tribes (2002)
Monsterology (2005)
Villainology (2005)
Megiddo's Shadow (2006)
Jolted (2008)
Shades: 17 Startling Stories (2011)

Flickers (2016)
Crimson (2018)
Death by Airship (2019)
Mr. Universe (2021)

Hunchback Assignments Series:
aka Modo Mission Clockwork Series:
The Hunchback Assignments (2009)
The Dark Deeps (2010)
Empire of Ruins (2011)
Island of Doom (2012)

Modo Embers End - Graphic Novel (2014)

The Northern Frights Series
Draugr (1997)
The Haunting of Drang Island (1998)
The Loki Wolf (2000)

Northern Frights Reprint Editions:
Draugr (2020)
Drang (2020)
Loki Wolf (2020)

The Canadian Chills Series
Return of the Grudstone Ghosts (2002)
Ghost Hotel (2004)
Invasion of the IQ Snatchers (2007)

Librarian. Assassin. Vampire Series:
Amber Fang: The Hunted
Amber Fang: Betrayed
Amber Fang: Revenge
Amber Fang Box Set Books 1-3

Dragon Assassin Series:
Twin Fury
Shadow Hunter
Dark Wings
Elder Magic
Royal Blood
Hidden Powers
Burning Empire
Old Enemies

Books as Stephen Shea:
The Not So Simple Life
Viper - Short Story

Visual Bibliography for Arthur Slade
Author profile interview with Arthur Slade.

Author profile interview with Stephen Shea. 

No comments: