Monday 18 February 2013

Such Wicked Intent - Kenneth Oppel - The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein Book 2

Such Wicked Intent
The Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein
Book 2
Kenneth Oppel
Harper Collins
Browse Inside
ISBN 9781554683420

Some books take you completely by surprise. This was one such book. In fact the story was so startling, so compelling and so amazing, I took months after reading it to think and reflect before writing my review. Kenneth Oppel has written a masterful tale in these books. In fact I was greatly disappointed when I found out there were no plans for more books. This dark tale will leave you hungry for more.

This story continues directly on the heels of This Dark Endeavor and goes even deeper into the depths of a man's quest for knowledge and power. Darkness began in Victor's heart and after his brother's death his father burns the contents of the hidden dark library. But there was a book hidden in a protective sleeve that looked like a book. It was a journal from Victor's distant relative. It includes instructions for crossing over to a spiritual realm. Soon Victor, Henry and Elizabeth are at it again, and once you open a door, sometimes it is very hard to close again!
This story is incredibly well written. I could not put the book down and went back to reread it in under a week. The story races along and you will find yourself on the edge of your seat with the intensity of the suspense and maybe even holding your breath as you read to find out what happens next. I have enjoyed all of Oppel's books from picture books to adult fiction and though this book was written for a young adult audience it could easily gather a large and wide following!  All I can say is thank you for the awesome read.

Books by Kenneth Oppel:

Half Brother (2010)
The Devil's Cure (2000)
Dead Water Zone (1992)
The Live-Forever Machine (1990)

Apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein
This Dark Endeavour (2011)
Such Wicked Intent (2012)

The Silverwing Saga
Silverwing (1997)
Sunwing (1999)
Firewing (2002)
Darkwing (2007)

Airborn Series
Airborn (2004)
Skybreaker (2005)
Starclimber (2008)

Children's Fiction:

The King's Taster (2009)
Peg and the Yeti (2004)
Peg and the Whale (2000)
Emma's Emu (1995)
Galactic Snapshots (1993)
Cosmic Snapshots (1993)
Follow That Star (1992)
Cosimo Cat (1990)
Colin's Fantastic Video Adventure (1985)

Barnes and the Brains
A Bad Case of Ghosts (1993)
A Strange Case of Magic (1994)
A Crazy Case of Robots (1994)
An Incredible Case of Dinosaurs (1994)
A Weird Case of Super-Goo (1997)
A Creepy Case of Vampires (2002)


No comments: