Monday 23 January 2012

Alienation - Jon S. Lewis - CHAOS Book 2

C.H.A.O.S. Book 2
Jon S. Lewis
Thomas Nelson
ISBN 9781595547545

I finished this book with mixed emotions. My first thought was WOW! My second was, if there is going to be a third book it will be more than a year out. As much as I loved book one, Invasion, in this series book two was even better. In many ways it was like reading an updated version of a classic science fiction story. It was like reading Heinlien, Herbert, and Bester but with today's look forward into even newer technology. Lewis does an amazing job of telling a story that draws from a number of literary traditions and rolls them up into something new, fresh and exciting, combining elements from stories like The Land Before Time, Captain America, Justice League and all with a wholesome spiritual twist without being preachy. I would say this is an amazing fiction novel and one of the best Christian Fiction books I have read in more than a decade. The characters are wonderful; the plot twist from book one to book two was stunning.
In a few short weeks, Colt has gone from losing his parents to moving to live with his Grandfather in Arizona. He has learned that all the monsters from myths and legends are real, and that his comic book super hero, the Phantom Flyer from his childhood, is based on stories about his grandfather and a secret government agency C.H.A.O.S. - the Central Headquarters Against the Occult and Supernatural. And now he is preparing to move again to C.H.A.O.S.' secret military prep school. But he has also found out his name is on a list and everyone else on the list is dead. Who can he trust, where can he turn?

This story is an amazing adventure. The pace is a race from beginning to end, with the threat to earth growing, and many looking to Colt to fulfill an ancient prophecy. It's a lot of pressure for a young man. This book was an incredible read and I cannot wait for book three.

Books by Jon S. Lewis:
Grey Griffins :

The Revenge of the Shadow King (2006)
The Rise of the Black Wolf (2007)
The Fall of the Templar (2008)

Grey Griffins Clockwork Chronicles:
The Brimstone Key (2010)
The Relic Hunters (2011)
The Paragon Prison (2012)

C.H.A.O.S. Series:
Invasion (2011)
Alienation (2012)
Domination (2013)

Free Realms:
Free Realms (12 part comic book series.)
Free Realms Book 1 (Issues 1-6) Graphic Novel (2010)
Free Realms Book 2 (Issues 7-12) Graphic Novel (2010)

The Mysterious Journals of J.S. Lewis (????)

Author Profile Interview with Jon S. Lewis.

No comments: